Hewing to past practice, the Costume Designers Guild has nominated predominantly large-scale studio pics for its 2005 kudos.

Nominees in the fantasy/period film category are Sandy Powell for Miramax and Warner Bros.’ “The Aviator”; Janty Yates, MGM’s “De-Lovely”; Colleen Atwood, Paramount and DreamWorks’ “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events”; Alexandra Byrne, Warner Bros.’ “Andrew Lloyd Webber’s The Phantom of the Opera”; and Sharen Davis for Universal’s “Ray.”

The guild presents costume kudos in five categories for film, television and commercials.

Milena Canonero garnered two nods in the contempo film category for her work on Warner’s “Ocean’s Twelve” and for Buena Vista’s “The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou.” Also tapped were Beatrix Aruna Pasztor for Par’s “Alfie,” Melissa Toth for Focus’ “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” and Catherine Thomas for Miramax’s “Kill Bill Vol. 2.”

Noms in the contemporary series category were dominated by HBO shows, including Patricia Field for “Sex and the City”; Jill Ohanneson, “Six Feet Under”; and Juliet Polcsa, “The Sopranos.” Also garnering nods were Catherine Adair for ABC’s “Desperate Housewives” (episodes 3-12) and Lou Eyrich for FX’s “Nip/Tuck.”

HBO nabbed three noms in the TV, period/fantasy category, for “Deadwood” (Katherine Jane Bryant), “Iron Jawed Angels” (Caroline Harris) and “The Life and Death of Peter Sellers” (Jill Taylor). Patia Prouty and Consolata Boyle were nominated for CBS’ “Cold Case” and Showtime’s “The Lion in Winter,” respectively.

Tapped for excellence in commercial costume design were Jennifer Rade for Apple Computer, iPod; Christopher Lawrence for Capitol One; and Deborah Ferguson for Target.

In addition to the competitive awards, honorary awards will be presented to Hall of Fame inductees, career achievement and distinguished director recipients. Ismail Merchant and James Ivory are set to receive the distinguished producer/director kudo. Debbie Reynolds, will receive the Swarovski President’s Award for her collection and conservation of classic Hollywood cos-tumes. Anthea Sylbert will take home the Lacoste career achievement in film award and Robert Fletcher will receive the Lancel kudo for career achievement in television. Additionally, Ruth Morley will be posthumously inducted into the Anne Cole Hall of Fame.