‘Aviator’ flies high with Las Vegas crix

Foxx, Winslet, 'Sunshine' take home top prizes

See Winners

LAS VEGAS — “The Aviator,” Miramax’s Martin Scorsese-directed biopic of Howard Hughes, flew away with seven nods from the Las Vegas Film Critics Society, including picture and director.

Other top winners of the org’s Sierra Awards are Jamie Foxx, who earned actor honors for “Ray,” and Kate Winslet, who garnered actress kudos for her dual performances in “Finding Neverland” and “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.”

Julie Andrews is the 2004 recipient of the William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award. Andrews’ films in 2004 included “Shrek 2” and the sequel to “The Princess Diaries.”

The Las Vegas Film Critics Society, founded in 1997, consists of 19 members of the journalistic community in the Las Vegas and Reno areas representing various radio, TV, print and online outlets.

Popular on Variety

The complete list of 2004 Las Vegas Film Critics Society honorees:

“The Aviator”

Jamie Foxx, “Ray”

Kate Winslet, “Finding Neverland,” “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”

Supporting Actor
Clive Owen, “Closer”

Supporting Actress
Cate Blanchett, “The Aviator,” “The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou”

Martin Scorsese, “The Aviator”

Screenplay (Adapted or Original)
Charlie Kaufman, “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”

Robert Richardson, “The Aviator”

Thelma Schoonmaker, “The Aviator”

Michael Giacchino, “The Incredibles”

“Old Habits Die Hard,” Mick Jagger and Dave Stewart — “Alfie”

Foreign Film
“Hero” (China)

Animated Film
“The Incredibles”

Family Film
“Finding Neverland”

Michael Moore and Jim Czarnecki, “Fahrenheit 9/11”

Costume Design
Sandy Powell, “The Aviator”

Art Direction
“The Aviator”

Visual Effects
“Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow”

Youth in Film Award
Freddie Highmore, “Finding Neverland”

“Mary Poppins” 40th Anniversary — Walt Disney Home Entertainment

William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award
Julie Andrews