See Nominees

The Art Directors Guild has opted for a mix of big-budget spectacles and midscale offerings in its feature nominations for excellence in production design.

Winners will be announced at the guild’s awards gala Feb. 12 at the Beverly Hilton.

In the period or fantasy category, the guild tapped Dante Ferretti for “The Aviator”; Gemma Jackson, “Finding Neverland”; Lou Romano, “The Incredibles”; Rick Heinrichs, “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events”; and Anthony Pratt, “Andrew Lloyd Webber’s The Phantom of the Opera.” Heinrichs won an Academy Award for “Sleepy Hollow”; Ferretti’s been Oscar-nominated six times and Pratt’s received one Oscar nom.

In the contemporary category, the ADG selected David Wasco for “Collateral,” Dan Leigh for “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind,” Mark Friedberg for “The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou,” Henry Bumstead for “Million Dollar Baby” and Alex McDowell for “The Terminal.” Bumstead won Oscars for “To Kill a Mockingbird” and “The Sting.”

TV noms

Guild also announced nominations in five TV categories. Single-camera TV series nods went to Scott Chambliss for “Alias”; Cory Kaplan, “Cold Case”; Thomas Walsh, “Desperate Housewives”; Dina Lipton, “Jack and Bobby”; and Mark Worthington, “Lost.”

Multicamera series noms went to Michael Gallenberg for “The Big House,” Sharon Busse for “Complete Savages,” John Shaffner for “Joey” and Glenda Rovello for “Will & Grace.”

TV movie nods went to Michael Baugh for “3: The Dale Earnhardt Story,” Herbert Pinter for “And Starring Pancho Villa as Himself” and Cynthia Charette for “Back When We Were Grownups.”

Kudos to kudocasts

In the variety, awards, music special or documentary category, nominations went to Steve Bass and Brian Stonestreet for “The 46th Annual Grammy Awards”; Roy Christopher, “The 76th Annual Academy Awards”; Joe Stewart and John Shaffner, “The American Music Awards,” Jefferson Sage, “The Dick Van Dyke Show — Revisited”; and John Sabato, “Mad TV.”

In the new commercials category, Michael F. Gaw received noms for his GE and Truth spots, while Lauryn LeClere received a nom for FEMA and Liz Kay was named for a Showtime promo.


Contemporary Film
Milena Canonero
The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou
Milena Canonero
Ocean’s Twelve
Beatrix Aruna Pasztor
Catherine Thomas
Kill Bill: Vol. 2
Melissa Toth
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Fantasy/Period Film
Colleen Atwood
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events
Alexandra Byrne
The Phantom of the Opera
Sharen Davis
Sandy Powell
The Aviator
Janty Yates

Contemporary Television
Catherine Adair
Desperate Housewives (Episodes 3-12)
Lou Eyrich
Patricia Field
Sex and the City
Jill Ohanneson
Six Feet Under
Juliet Polcsa
The Sopranos

Fantasy/Period Television
Consolata Boyle
The Lion in Winter
Katherine Jane Bryant
Caroline Harris
Iron Jawed Angels
Patia Prouty
Cold Case
Jill Taylor
The Life and Death of Peter Sellers

Deborah Ferguson
Target (“Wake Up Call”)
Christopher Lawrence
Capital One (“Football Stadium…Visigoths”)
Jennifer Rade
Apple Computer, iPOD (“Dance”)


Contemporary Film
Henry Bumstead
Million Dollar Baby
Mark Friedberg
The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou
Dan Leigh
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Alex McDowell
The Terminal
David Wasco

Period or Fantasy Film
Dante Ferretti
The Aviator
Rick Heinrichs
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events
Gemma Jackson
Finding Neverland
Anthony Pratt
The Phantom of the Opera
Lou Romano
The Incredibles

Single Camera TV Series
Scott Chambliss
Corey Kaplan
Cold Case (“Factory Girls”)
Dina Lipton
Jack & Bobby (“An Innocent Man”)
Thomas Walsh
Desperate Housewives (“Ah, But Underneath”)
Mark Worthington
Lost (pilot)

Multi-Camera TV Series
Sharon Busse
Complete Savages (“Carnival Knowledge”)
Michael Gallenberg
The Big House (“Almost Touched by an Angel”)
Glenda Rovello
Will & Grace (“Queens for a Day”)
John Shaffner
Joey (pilot)

TV Movie or Mini Series
Michael Baugh
3 The Dale Earnhardt Story
Cynthia Charette
Back When We Were Grownups
Herbert Pinter
And Starring Pancho Villa as Himself

Variety or Awards Show, Music Special or Documentary
Steve Bass and Brian Stonestreet
46th Annual Grammy Awards
Roy Christopher
76th Annual Academy Awards
John Sabato
Mad TV (Episode 1006)
Jefferson Sage
The Dick Van Dyke Show
Joe Stewart and John Shaffner
The American Music Awards

Michael Gaw
GE (“Beauty and Brains”)
Michael Gaw
Truth (“Shards-O-Glass Pops”)
Liz Kay
Showtime Network Promo (“America’s Fight Night”)
Lauryn LeClere
FEMA (“Ignoring the Storm”)