Acad fetes inventors

Burbulla, Lavalou among scientific, technical recipients

At an awards ceremony that is more about cameras than couture, the Academy’s Scientific and Technical Awards will honor inventor Horst Burbulla with an Oscar for the creation and development of the Technocrane telescoping camera crane.

Among the 15 achievements honored at the awards, Oscars will be presented to Jean-Marie Lavalou, Alain Masseron and David Samuelson for development of the Louma Camera Crane.

The Gordon E. Sawyer Award will be given to Takuo Miyagishima for his lifetime of technological contributions to the industry. An Award of Commendation will be given to Arthur Widmer to recognize his achievements in image compositing for motion pictures, Ultra Violet and bluescreen development.

Scientific and Engineering Awards, which are recognized with Academy Plaques, will go to Gyula Mester and Keith Edwards for their contributions to the development of the Technocrane telescoping camera crane. Plaques will also go to Lindsay Arnold, Guy Griffiths, David Hodson, Charlie Lawreence and David Mann for their development of the Cineon Digital Film Workstation.

Popular on Variety

Nine tech devices will be given Technical Achievement Awards in the form of Academy Certificates. Greg Cannom and Wesley Wofford will be honored for their development of special silicone material for makeup application used in film. Jerry Cotts and Anthony Seaman will receive certificates for the engineering of the Satellight-X HMI Softlight.

Steven E. Boze’s design and implementation of the DNF 001 multi-band digital audio noise suppressor will be recognized. Kudos will go to Dr. Christopher Hicks and Dave Betts for the design of the Ceda DNS 1000 multi-band digital noise suppressor.

Additional certificates will go to Nelson Tyler for the Tyler Gyroplatform boat mount stabilizing device and to Alan Kapler for the development of Storm, a software tool kit for artistic control of volumetric effects. The group of Dr. Julian Morris, Michael Birch, Dr. Paul Smyth and Paul Tate will be honored for their Vicon motion capture technology. Giant Studios motion capture technology has earned honors for its developers Dr. Nels Madsen, Vaughn Cato, Matthew Madden and Bill Lorton.

Rounding out the group are Dr. John O. B. Greaves, Ned Phipps, Antonie J. v den Bogert and William Hayes for the Motion Analysis motion capture technology.

The kudosfest will be held Feb.12 at the Ritz-Carlton Huntington Hotel in Pasadena.