You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Acad extends invites to 112

Invitee list includes Grey, Lynton, Forster

See list

For the second year, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has released a list of artists and executives invited to join the org, with 112 individuals on this year’s list.

The org allows for an inflow of 30 members annually, after vacancies from deaths and retirements (to non-voting status) have been filled.

Even if all 112 accept, the actual number of voting members will shrink compared with 2004’s roster — the result of a decision to slow growth and be more selective, said Acad prexy Frank Pierson.

The invitees are in 19 categories, including execs Brad Grey and Michael Lynton; producers Avi Arad and Michael London; scribes Paul Haggis and Mike White; directors Alejandro Amenabar and Marc Forster; composer Jan A.P. Kaczmarek; production designers John Dexter and Anthony Pratt; and actors Gael Garcia Bernal, Jamie Foxx, Will Ferrell, Catalina Sandino Moreno and Ziyi Zhang.

Popular on Variety

New members will be initiated Sept. 21 at the Academy’s Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills.

The complete list:

Gael Garcia Bernal
Thomas Haden Church
Jennifer Coolidge
Will Ferrell
Jamie Foxx
Paul Giamatti
Catalina Sandino Moreno
Sophie Okonedo
Clive Owen
Charlotte Rampling
Jean Reno
Stellan Skarsgard
Imelda Staunton
Mykelti Williamson
Ziyi Zhang

Andrew Adamson
Kathy Altieri
Signe Baumane
Baker Bloodworth
John Hughes
Scott F. Johnston
Chris Landreth
Tim Miller

Ian Bryce
Fred Chandler
Charles Newirth

Curtis Clark
Jim Denault
Robert Fraisse
Dick Pope
Tami Reiker
Lisa Rinzler
Jerry Zielinski

Alejandro Amenábar
Marc Forster
Oliver Hirschbiegel
Andy Tennant
Joel Zwick

Nick Broomfield
Peter Davis
Kirby Dick
Kathleen Glynn
Robert Greenwald
Stacy Peralta

Paul G. Allen
Doug Belgrad
Robert Berney
Ann Daly
Daniel Ferleger
Camela Galano
Brad Grey
Steven Jobs
Michael Lynton
Kevin McCormick
Bruce Tobey
Matt Tolmach

Film Editors
Jim Miller
Julie Monroe
Debra Neil-Fisher
Nancy Richardson
Kevin Tent

Live Action Short Films
Andrea Arnold
Andrew J. Sacks
Nacho Vigalondo

John Blake
J. Roy Helland

Bruno Coulais
Jan A.P. Kaczmarek
Mark Mothersbaugh
Edward Shearmur

Public Relations
Breena Camden
Laura Carrillo
Susan J. Kroll
Michael Moses
Dennis Rice
Steven Mark Siskind

Scientific and Technical
Glenn Kennel

Set Decorators
John Bush
Jim Erickson
Debra Schutt

David Arnold
Steve Cantamessa
Andrew Koyama
Hugh Waddell
Michael Wilhoit
David Mark Young

Visual Effects
Joseph B. Bauer
Nicholas Brooks
Blair Clark
Mark Forker
Robert Grasmere
Matthew R. Gratzner
Roger John Guyett
Christophe Hery
David S. Williams, Jr.

Paul Haggis
David Magee
Keir Pearson
Jose Rivera
David N. Weiss
Mike White

Visual Effects
Joseph B. Bauer
Nicholas Brooks
Blair Clark
Mark Forker
Robert Grasmere
Matthew R. Gratzner
Roger John Guyett
Christophe Hery
David S. Williams, Jr.

More Scene


    Donna Karan, Mary-Louise Parker Honored at David Lynch Foundation's Women of Vision Awards

    Donna Karan, Mary-Louise Parker and Deborra-Lee Furness were celebrated for their charitable work at the David Lynch Foundation’s 2019 Women of Vision Awards. “We are all being guided to come together as one. There is so much chaos in the world right now,” Karan said, while accepting her Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual luncheon on [...]

  • Bill Hader

    Bill Hader, Greg Berlanti, Margie Cohn and Cindy Holland Inducted Into Variety Hall of Fame

    Variety’s annual Hall of Fame ceremony mixed comedy, gratitude and warmth at the annual awards ceremony Tuesday night at the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills. Because the class of 2019 celebrates technical innovation and achievement across film, TV, digital, video games and music. The honorees — Greg Berlanti, Bill Hader, Cindy Holland, Dametra Johnson-Marletti, [...]

  • Billy Porter FNAA

    Billy Porter Explains Why Fashion 'Can and Should' Be Activism

    On Tuesday in New York City, a handful of fashion’s marquee names, including Kenneth Cole, Tommy Hilfiger, Steve Madden and Pete Nordstrom, and many of its muses, including Billy Porter, Lena Waithe, Adriana Lima and Paris Hilton, gathered to celebrate the annual Footwear News Achievement Awards — or, as it’s more colloquially dubbed, the “Shoe Oscars.” Activism and the potential for designers to spur [...]

  • Tiffany Haddish Black Mitzvah

    Barbra Streisand Gives Tiffany Haddish Star of David Necklace for Her 'Black Mitzvah'

    Tiffany Haddish rang in her 40th birthday Tuesday night by celebrating her black and Jewish heritage with a star-studded “Black Mitzvah” party. One of Haddish’s famous friends, Barbra Streisand, was noticeably absent from the festivities, but sent the comedian a special memento for the occasion. “She got me this beautiful Star of David,” Haddish told [...]

  • Kasi Lemmons

    'Harriet' Director Kasi Lemmons Weighs In on Julia Roberts Casting Controversy

    Eddie Murphy, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Nia Long and “Harriet” filmmaker Kasi Lemmons were honored for their contributions to the industry Monday night at the inaugural celebration of black cinema by the Critics Choice Association. And as the event, held at the Landmark Annex in Los Angeles, looked back on how far people of color have come [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content