HOLLYWOOD — The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers honored film and television composers Wednesday, bestowing kudos on 62 composers and singling out “Big Yellow Taxi,” “I’m With You” and “Lose Yourself” as the songs in films with the highest number of performance credits in 2003.

At the Beverly Hilton Hotel, Penny Marshall presented composer Howard Shore with the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award. Clint Eastwood received the Opus Award from Herbie Hancock and ASCAP prexy-chair Marilyn Bergman.

Eastwood, Bergman said, was honored “for his work as a director who has shown deep understanding of the singular contribution of music to film.”

Mancini’s daughter, Monica, performed the songs “Dear Heart” and “Two for the Road” in honor of her father. Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger sent a letter congratulating ASCAP on its 90th birthday and all of the award winners.

Four categories

ASCAP Film and Television Awards were handed out in four categories.

ASCAP composers with scores from the top box office films of 2003 are Klaus Badelt (“Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl”); Marco Beltrami (“Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines”); Phil Collins (“Brother Bear”); and Iva Davies, Christopher Gordon, Richard Tognetti (“Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World”).

Also: John Debney (“Bruce Almighty,” “Elf”); Elliot Goldenthal (“S.W.A.T.”); Randy Newman (“Seabiscuit”); John Powell (“The Italian Job”); Robert Rodriguez (“Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over”); Howard Shore (“The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”); and Hans Zimmer (“The Last Samurai”).

Most TV credits

Composers whose works have earned the highest number of performance credits on television are Dan Foliart, Chris Isaak, Branford Marsalis, Howard Shore and Michael Skloff.

Television dramatic underscore honorees were Jack Allocco, Frank Catanzaro, Denis Hannigan, David Kurtz, Russ Landau and Mark Snow.

Composers who have written the themes and underscore for the highest-rated TV series are Lee Aronsohn, Grant Geissman (“Two and a Half Men”); Eric Bazilian, Jonathan Grossman (“Joan of Arcadia”); Jake Black, Simon Edwards, Piers Marsh, Robert Spragg (“The Sopranos”); and Steve Bramson, Bruce Broughton (“JAG”).

Also: Alf Clausen (“The Simpsons”); Scott Clausen, Arnold Hennings, Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes (“All That”); Lisa Coleman, Wendy Melvoin (“Carnivale,” “Crossing Jordan”); Catherine Dennis, Julian Gingell, Barry Stone (“American Idol”); Jakob Dylan (“The Guardian”); plus Matthew Hawkins, Maurice “M.O.” Jackson, Neil Martin (“Navy NCIS”).

In addition: Reinhold Heil, Johnny Klimek (“Without a Trace”); Peter Himmelman (“Judging Amy”); James Newton Howard (“ER”); Holly Knight (“Still Standing”); Russ Landau (“Fear Factor,” “Survivor: Amazon,” “Survivor: Pearl Islands”); Jim Lang (“Hey Arnold!”); Michael Levine (“Cold Case”); Rick Marotta (“Everybody Loves Raymond,” “Yes, Dear”); Roger Neill, Keith “Seven” Volpone (“The Simple Life”); John Nordstrom (“Las Vegas”); Michael Skloff (“Friends”); David Vanacore (“Joe Millionaire,” “Survivor: Amazon,” “Survivor: Pearl Islands”); and Tom Waits (“The Wire”).