ASCAP cues honors for songwriters

Nowels' 'Game of Love' is song of the year

50 Cent, Graham Edwards and Nelly were named songwriters of the year at the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers annual Pop Music Awards on Tuesday night.

ASCAP also honored Rick Nowels with the song of the year award for “The Game of Love”; kudos for publisher of the year went to EMI Music Publishing.

Special kudos handed out include the ASCAP Founder Award to Jackson Browne. Honor is granted to pioneering songwriters for their exceptional contributions to music.

The inaugural Creative Voice honor went to Metallica for the metal band’s influence on rock over the last 23 years, as well as their dedication to fighting piracy.

The Partner in Music Award went to MTV and VH1 for their efforts in promoting and expanding the reach of music.

John Mayer, Chink Santana, Train, Justin Timberlake, Avril Lavigne, Varick “Smitty Smith” and Steven “Lenky” Marsden all received multiple kudos.

Show, hosted by ASCAP prexy Marilyn Bergman, included perfs by Browne, Chingy, Shawn Colvin and Dobie Gray.