See Winners

Thirteen students from nine colleges and universities have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 31st annual Student Academy Awards competition.

Additionally, a film student from Denmark has been selected from an original pool of 39 submissions from 23 countries to receive this year’s Honorary Foreign Film Student Award.

Gold, silver and bronze medallists will be revealed at a June 13 ceremony at the Acad’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. Gold winners receive $5,000, silver medallists are awarded $3,000 and bronze medal recipients are presented with $2,000.

And the winners are…

“Focus,” Bill Ridlehoover and Nilanjan Lahiri, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
“S.P.I.C.: The Storyboard of My Life,” Robert Castillo, School of Visual Arts, New York

“Lemmings,” Craig Van Dyke, Brigham Young University
“Rex Steele: Nazi Smasher,” Alexander Woo, New York University
“Rock the World,” Sukwon Shin, School of Visual Arts, New York

“Cheerleader,” Kimberlee Bassford, University of California, Berkeley
“Cuba: Illogical Temple,” David Pittock and Lindsey Kealy, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
“When the Storm Came,” Shilpi Gupta, University of California, Berkeley

“A-Alike,” Randall Dottin, Columbia University
“The Plunge,” Todd Schulman, Florida State University
“Zeke,” Dana Buning, Florida State University

Honorary Foreign Student Film Award
“Between Us,” Laurits Munch-Petersen, National Film School of Denmark