You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Bon’ showing for Rappeneau

Pic tapped for 11 Cesar noms

See nomineesPARIS — “Cyrano” helmer Jean Paul Rappeneau’s “Bon Voyage” topped France’s list of Cesar hopefuls Friday, with nominations in 11 categories including best director and best film. The film is France’s contender for the upcoming Oscars.

Alain Resnais musical comedy “Not on the Lips” won nine nominations including best director and best films.

In the foreign film category, U.S. films took four out of five slots with the Cannes Palme d’Or winner “Elephant,” “Mystic River” “Gangs of New York” and “The Hours.” Venice Golden Lion winner “The Return” was also nominated. “Dogville,” “Good Bye Lenin!,” “Best of Youth,” “Respiro” and “The Magdalene Sisters” will slog it out for best film from the European Union.

As well as some of the foreign films in the running for a statuette, films seen at last year’s the Cannes Film Festival featured heavily in the lineup of nominees, including the animated feature “The Triplets of Belleville,” “Swimming Pool” “The Barbarian Invasions,” “Strayed,” “La Petite Lili” and the Critics’ week winner “Since Otar Left.”

Veteran thesp Micheline Presle will receive a Cesar d’Honneur at the awards ceremony in Paris Feb. 21, which is produced and will be broadcast by Canal Plus.

And the nominees are . . .

Best Actor
Daniel Auteuil, “After You”
Jean-Pierre Bacri, “Feelings”
Gad Elmaleh, “Chouchou”
Omar Sharif , “Monsieur Ibrahim”
Bruno Todeschini, “His Brother”

Josiane Balasko, “Hanging Offense”
Nathalie Baye, “Feelings”
Isabelle Carre, “Feelings”
Charlotte Rampling, “Swimming Pool”
Sylvie Testud, “Fear and Trembling”

Denys Arcand, “The Barbarian Invasions”
Lucas Belvaux, “An Amazing Couple,” “On the Run” “After Life”
Claude Miller, “La Petite Lili”
Jean-Paul Rappeneau, “Bon Voyage”
Alain Resnais, “Not on the Lips”

Supporting Actor
Yvan Attal, “Bon Voyage”
Clovis Cornillac, “Nickel and Dime”
Darry Cowl, “Not on the Lips”
Marc Lavoine, “French Men”
Jean-Pierre Marielle, “La Petite Lili”

Supporting Actress
Julie Depardieu, “La Petite Lili”
Judith Godreche, “France boutique”
Isabelle Nanty, “Not on the Lips”
Geraldine Pailhas, “Le Cout de la vie”
Ludivine Sagnier, “Swimming Pool”

French Film
“Bon Voyage,” Jean-Paul Rappeneau
“The Barbarian Invasions,” Denys Arcand
“Not on the Lips,” Alain Resnais
“Feelings,” Noemie Lvovsky
“The Triplets of Belleville,” Sylvain Chomet

Male Newcomer
Gregori Derangere, “Bon Voyage”
Nicolas Duvauchelle, “Eager Bodies”
Pascal Elbe, “Father and Sons”
Gregoire Leprince-Ringuet, “Strayed”
Gaspard Ulliel, “Strayed”

Female Newcomer
Marie-Josee Croze, “The Barbarian Invasions”
Julie Depardieu, “La Petite Lili”
Dinara Droukarova, “Since Otar Left”
Sophie Quinton, “Who Killed Bambi?”
Laura Smet, “Eager Bodies”

First Film
“Since Otar Left,” Julie Bertuccelli
“It’s Easier for a Camel,” Valerie Bruni-Tedeschi
“Father and Sons,” Michel Boujenah
“Who Killed Bambi,” Gilles Marchand
“The Triplets of Belleville,” Sylvain Chomet

European Union Film
“Dogville,” Lars Von Trier
“Good Bye Lenin!,” Wolfgang Becker
“of Youth,” Marco Tullio Giordana
“Respiro,” Emanuele Crialese
“The Magdalene Sisters,” Peter Mullan

Jean-Marie Blondel, Gerard Hardy, Gerard Lamps, “Not on the Lips”
Pierre Gamet, Jean Goudier, Dominique Hennequin, “Bon Voyage”
Jean-Paul Mugel, “Strayed”

Original Screenplay or Adaptation
Denys Arcand, “The Barbarian Invasions”
Lucas Belvaux, “An Amazing Couple”, “On the Run” “After Life”
Julie Bertuccelli, Roger Bohbot, Bernard Renucci, “Since Otar Left”
Alain Corneau, “Fear and Trembling”
Jean-Paul Rappeneau, Patrick Modiano, “Bon voyage”

Original Music
Benoit Charest, “The Triplets of Belleville”
Stephan Eicher, “Monsieur N.”
Bruno Fontaine, “Not on the Lips”
Gabriel Yared, “Bon voyage”

Pierre Aim, “Monsieur N”
Thierry Arbogast, “Bon Voyage”
Agnes Godard, “Strayed”

Costume Design
Jackie Budin, “Not on the Lips”
Catherine Leterrier, “Bon Voyage”
Carine Sarfati, “Monsieur N”

Foreign Film
“Elephant,” Gus Van Sant
“Gangs of New York,” Martin Scorsese
“Mystic River,” Clint Eastwood
“Le Retour,” Andrei Zviaguintsev
“The Hours,” Stephen Daldry

Set Design
Jacques Rouxel, Catherine Leterrier, “Bon Voyage”
Jacques Saulnie, “Not on the Lips”
Patrick Durand, “Monsieur N”

Danielle Anezin, Valerie Loiseleux, Ludo Troch, “An Amazing Couple” “On the Run” “After Life”
Herve de Luze, “Not on the Lips”
Marilyne Monthieux, “Bon Voyage”

Short Film
“La Chatte Andalouse,” Gerald Hustache-Mathieu
“L’Homme Sans Tete,” Juan Solanas
“I’ll Wait for the Next One,” Philippe Orreindy
“Pacotille,” Eric Jameux

More Film

  • Playwright Mark Medoff author of "Children

    Mark Medoff, 'Children of a Lesser God' Playwright, Dies at 79

    Mark Medoff, the playwright who wrote Tony Award-winning play “Children of a Lesser God,” died Tuesday in Las Cruces, N.M. He was 79. His daughter Jessica Medoff Bunchman posted news of his death on Facebook, and the Las Cruces Sun-News attributed the cause to cancer. “Children of a Lesser God” starred John Rubinstein and Phyllis Frelich [...]

  • Editorial use only. No book cover

    Interscope Films Relaunches With Full Slate at Tribeca (EXCLUSIVE)

    The Interscope record label’s interest in film/music crossover isn’t exactly a secret: With hit companion albums for “A Star Is Born,” “Black Panther” and “La La Land,” they’ve seemed to own the soundtrack space at times in recent years. And the company hasn’t completely made a secret of its desire to move into film production. [...]

  • Avengers: Endgame

    'Avengers: Endgame': Fans and Theaters Assemble for Biggest Marvel Movie Ever

    For San Diego resident Shawn Richter, “Avengers: Endgame” is more than the conclusion to a monumental period in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. As the West Coast branch chair of Avengers Initiative, a cosplay charity that raises money for causes like the Ronald McDonald House Children’s Charities, the comics of Stan Lee and Jack Kirby are [...]

  • Jillian Bell appears in Brittany Runs

    Amazon's 'Brittany Runs a Marathon' Sets Summer Release

    “Brittany Runs a Marathon” will be rushing to theaters on Aug. 23. Amazon Studios dated the comedy on Wednesday. The pic, starring Jillian Bell (“Rough Night,” “22 Jump Street”), won the audience award at the Sundance Film Festival. The flick follows the titutal Brittany, who decides to run around New York City in order to [...]

  • Lionsgate Hires Lynn Whitney in Marketing

    Lionsgate Hires Former Warner Bros. Exec Lynn Whitney

    Lionsgate announced Wednesday that Lynn Whitney will become head of worldwide paid media, partnerships, promotions and consumer products. Whitney was formerly the executive VP of worldwide media at Warner Bros.   In her new role, Whitney will build out media campaigns for movies like Seth Rogen and Charlize Theron’s romantic comedy “Long Shot.” “I am [...]

  • El silencio de otros

    Film Review: 'The Silence of Others'

    “Forgiven but not forgotten” is a platitude we routinely use to end disputes both petty and grievous, but it’s the reverse outcome — the mass forgetting of crimes and conflicts never truly resolved — that itches away at a post-Franco Spain in “The Silence of Others.” Soberly chronicling the ongoing legal battle of General Franco’s [...]

  • A Womans Work-The NFLs Cheerleader Problem

    Tribeca Documentaries Explore Gender Issues in Sport

    Up until recently, what it meant to be a professional female athlete in a world dominated by men wasn’t an issue that garnered high volumes of public interest, let alone national headlines. But that all changed in October 2017 when stories from the New York Times and the New Yorker detailing sexual allegations and improper [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content