ASC’s TV noms tilt heavily toward drama

'Wives,' 'Carnivale,' 'Angels,' 'Den' among contenders

HOLLYWOOD — The American Society of Cinematographers leaned heavily toward dramas in tapping the nominees for its top honors in three television categories.

Nominees for the episodic TV are John Aronson for the “Dead Wives Club” episode of NBC’s “Crossing Jordan,” Thomas A. Del Ruth for the “7AWF83429” seg of “NBC’s “The West Wing,” Jeffrey Jur for “Pick a Number” for HBO’s “Carnivale,” Chris Manley for “Dr. Germ” for ABC’s “Threat Matrix” and Eric Schmidt for “Time to Hate” for CBS’s “Cold Case.”

Noms in the movie/miniseries/pilot category in basic cable or pay TV: Stephen Goldblatt for HBO’s “Angels in America,” Michael Mayers for FX’s “The Pentagon Papers,” Donald M. Morgan for Showtime’s “Out of the Ashes,” Tami Reiker for the “Carnivale” pilot and Ashley Rowe for Showtime’s “Tennessee Williams’ The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone.”

Mayers also received a nomination for the pilot of NBC’s “The Lyon’s Den” in the movie/miniseries/pilot for networks category. Other noms: Pierre Gill for CBS’ “Hitler: The Rise of Evil,” Ernest Holzman for the pilot of ABC’s “The Calling/Miracles,” Bill Roe for the pilot for NBC’s “Las Vegas” and Eric Van Haren Noman for CBS’s “Brush With Fate.”

“Our juries saw a lot of very special work in all categories,” said ASC Awards Committee chairman Owen Roizman. “It isn’t easy selecting nominees because the decisions are subjective. We are judging how effectively images convey stories. The votes were so close that there could have been seven or eight nominees in each category.”

The kudos will be presented Feb. 8 at the org’s 18th annual awards gala at the Century Plaza Hotel.

Mayers becomes fourth cinematographer to be double-nommed in the history of the awards. Del Ruth received his eighth nomination and has won four times.

It’s the sixth nom for Roe, who has two wins, and the fifth for Morgan, who’s won four times. Van Haren has now received four nods and it’s the third for Goldblatt and Holzman, who has won once. Gill and Jur each received their second nomination; Jur has won once.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety