Veteran union activist Marvin Kaplan has been elected to a two-year term as president of the Los Angeles local of AFTRA, defeating second VP Ron Morgan. He succeeds Susan Boyd in the post.

Kaplan, whose TV credits include “ER” and “Becker,” has been the local’s first VP for the past eight years. He also previously served six years as Local president. He chairs the L.A. Local’s 50-60-70 Cold Readings Committee and is co-chair of the WGA/AFTRA Senior Projects Readings Committee.

Kaplan has opposed the proposed SAG-AFTRA consolidation. Morgan, who headed the AFTRA Team Leadership slate, has been an active proponent of the plan.

Boyd chose not to seek re-election and is stepping down as president after eight years.

Also elected to two-year terms as Local officers were Dan Navarro, second VP; Bobbie Bates, third VP; and Jason George, fourth VP. Incumbent recording secretary Jackie Joseph and treasurer Jay Gerber were re-elected.

Re-elected to three-year terms on the L.A. Local board were actors Raza Burgee, Jacque Lynn Colton, AFTRA national president John P. Connolly, Carole Elliott, Jay Gerber, Edie Lehmann Boddicker and Paul Napier; announcer Bernie Alan; dancer Chad Everett Allen; and singer Susan Boyd. Incoming Local board members include singer Gerald White; newsman Henry Alfaro; and actors Blair Bess, Gary Fredo, Buddy Lewis and Debi Mae West.

Fredo, Lewis and Boddicker also were newly elected to three-year national board terms.

National board members re-elected from Los Angeles to three-year terms include actors Bess, Ivy Bethune, Burgee, Connolly, Elliott, Frank Maxwell, Ron Morgan, Karl Warren and Millie Wright; singers Boyd and Jon Joyce; and announcer Alan.