You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Fay Kanin chosen to receive Kieser Award

Award recognizes efforts to promote family values

Fay Kanin will receive the Kieser Award at the 29th annual Humanitas Prize gala July 10 at the Universal Hilton Hotel.

The award, named for late priest and producer Ellwood “Bud” Kieser, celebrates an individual whose efforts promote an appreciation of family and family values. Kanin is the second recipient of the award, following Bill Moyers.

Kanin won Emmys for co-producing “Friendly Fire” (1979) and for writing “Tell Me Where It Hurts” (1974) and received Oscar and WGA nominations for scripting “Teacher’s Pet” (1958).

Kanin also has served as prexy of the Motion Picture Academy four times, chair of the National Film Preservation Board and as a member of the board of trustees of the American Film Institute. Her work has been previously recognized by the Writers Guild of America, the ACLU, the League of Women Voters and Women in Film.

The Humanitas Prize honors writers who portray life experiences in a positive light.

This year’s Humanitas finalists for feature film and television will be announced Tuesday along with the first David & Lynn Angell Student Comedy Fellowship, which will grant a $10,000 stipend to a graduate student specializing in writing.

More TV

  • BBC Orders Oscar Wilde Documentary with

    BBC Orders Oscar Wilde Documentary With Stephen Fry, Freddie Fox

    A new documentary about Oscar Wilde will tell the celebrated writer’s story with a star cast recreating excerpts from his greatest works, including “The Importance of Being Earnest” and “The Picture of Dorian Gray.” Freddie Fox, Claire Skinner, Anna Chancellor and James Fleet will all perform in the 80-minute show, “The Importance of Being Oscar,” which [...]

  • FOSSE VERDON -- Pictured: (l-r) Michelle

    TV News Roundup: 'Fosse/Verdon' Premiere Date Set at FX

    In today’s TV news roundup, FX announced the premiere date for “Fosse/Verdon,” and Comedy Central released a new trailer for the final season of “Broad City.”  DATES “Workin’ Moms” is set to premiere Feb. 22 on Netflix. The series, which is currently in its third season, first aired in Canada on CBC Television and is [...]

  • Ilana Glazer Abbi Jacobson

    'Broad City' Stars on Discovering New Aspects of Their Characters

    Throughout the run of “Broad City,” creators Abbi Jacobson and Ilana Glazer have been conflicted about how much of their on-screen characters (also named Abbi and Ilana) should come directly from their personalities and lives. But when it came to the final season, Jacobson in particular experienced a life-changing shift that she wanted to impart [...]

  • The Goldbergs spinoff

    NBC Orders Comedy Pilot 'Uninsured' From 'Goldbergs' Producers

    NBC has ordered a pilot for the multi-camera comedy “Uninsured.” In the series, young parents Dave and Rebecca end up having to take care of Dave’s parents who have mishandled their finances and need help to pay down a sizable debt. Dan Levy will serve as writer and executive producer, with Doug Robinson and Alison Greenspan [...]

  • Emily Kapnek

    'Splitting Up Together' Creator Emily Kapnek Inks Overall Deal at ABC Studios (EXCLUSIVE)

    Writer and producer Emily Kapnek has signed a three-year overall deal at ABC Studios, Variety has learned exclusively. Kapnek most recently developed the ABC single-cam comedy series “Splitting Up Together,” which is based on the Danish series “Bedre skilt end aldrig.” She was previously under an overall deal at Warner Bros. Television, which produces “Splitting Up [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content