Acad Foundation taps Kanin

Sherak, Gordon named as new trustees

Fay Kanin has been elected prexy of the Academy Foundation, the educational and cultural arm of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

Kanin, a former Acad prexy, and governor of the Academy’s writer’s branch, has previously served three terms in the position.

Other officers elected to the foundation include music branch governors Charles Bernstein and Arthur Hamilton, veepees; editors branch governor Donn Cambern, secretary; and public relations branch governor Sid Ganis, treasurer. Bruce Davis remains executive secretary of the foundation.

New trustees named to the foundation are producers branch governor Larry Gordon and executive branch governor Tom Sherak. Dede Allen, Jon Bloom, Gil Cates, Cheryl Boone Isaacs, Mark Johnson, Bill Mechanic, Frank R. Pierson, Robert Rehme and Donald C. Rogers were all re-elected to serve another term as trustees.

All trustees and officers serve terms of one year.