Crix salute Conn. theater

'Medea/Macbeth/Cinderella' takes best play prize

SOUTHBURY, Conn. — With Joanne Woodward, artistic director of the Westport Country Playhouse, and Hartford Stage a.d. Michael Wilson as co-hosts, the Connecticut Critics Circle Awards for outstanding contributions to Connecticut theater in 2002-03 were presented Monday at a ceremony at Hartford Stage.

Best play was “Medea/Macbeth/Cinderella” at Yale Repertory Theater, and the musical prize went to “Me and My Girl” at Goodspeed Musicals.

Acting honorees

Thesp awards were awarded in the play category to Annalee Jefferies for Hartford Stage’s “The Night of the Iguana,” and both Leon Addison Brown for Westport’s “Master Harold … and the Boys” and James Colby in “Iguana.” In musicals, thesp winners were Josie de Guzman for “The King and I” at Bridgeport’s Downtown Cabaret Theater and Hunter Bell in “Me and My Girl.”

Popular on Variety

The ensemble award went to “Ain’t Misbehavin’ ” at Bridgeport’s Playhouse on the Green; winners were James Alexander, Rosena M. Hill, Danette E. Sheppard, Charles E. Wallace and Carla Woods. For debut perf, winner was Royce Johnson for “A Lesson Before Dying” at Stamford Theater Works.

Kudo roundup

Other winners: director/play, Bill Rauch and Tracy Young, “Medea/Macbeth/Cinderella,” Yale Rep; choreography, Lisa and Gary McIntyre, “Swing,” Downtown Cabaret Theater; set, Jeff Cowie, Hartford’s “Night of the Iguana”; costumes, Christal Weatherly, “Wintertime,” Long Wharf Theater, New Haven; lighting, Robert Wierzel, “Wintertime,” Long Wharf; sound, Christopher A. Granger, “A Lesson Before Dying,” Stamford Theater Works; roadshow, “bobrauschenbergamerica,” Stamford Center for the Arts.

The Tom Killen Memorial Award was presented to Connecticut Gov. John G. Rowland, who has catapulted the state’s arts giving from somewhere in the lowest 10% per capita to No. 1 per capita in the country. A special achievement award went to writer-performer Ruben Santiago-Hudson for his “Lackawanna Blues” at Long Wharf.