‘Best Plays’ yearbook taps top 10

Works chosen staged from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2003

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, editor of the “Best Plays” yearbook, has announced the top 10 legit works for the 2002-03 season. Burns Mantle founded the series in 1920.

The 84th edition includes 10 new plays that were staged between June 1, 2002, and May 31, 2003. The choices were made by the editor after consultation with the “Best Plays” editorial board, which includes Robert Brustein, Tish Dace, Christine Dolen, Mel Gussow, Robert Hurwitt, John Istel, Chris Jones, Julius Novick, Michael Phillips, Christopher Rawson, Alisa Solomon, Jeffrey Sweet, Linda Winer and Charles Wright.

This year’s series comprises the plays “Book of Days” by Lanford Wilson, “Dublin Carol” by Conor McPherson, “I Am My Own Wife” by Doug Wright, “Imaginary Friends” by Nora Ephron, “The Mercy Seat” by Neil LaBute, “Our Lady of 121st Street” by Stephen Adly Guirgis, “Stone Cold Dead Serious” by Adam Rapp, “Take Me Out” by Richard Greenberg, “Talking Heads” by Alan Bennett and “Yellowman” by Dael Orlandersmith.