Palm Springs adds kudos

Thesp given inaugural Rising Star Award

Actor Scarlett Johansson and scribe Sidney Sheldon will receive special awards at the 15th annual Palm Springs Film Festival.

Johansson will be honored with the inaugural Rising Star Award and Sheldon will receive the Sonny Bono Visionary Award at a Jan. 11 ceremony in Palm Springs.

Other honorees this year include Kevin Costner, Anthony Minghella, Richard D. Zanuck, Jim Sheridan and Danny Elfman. Production designer Dante Ferretti will receive the career achievement award at a separate ceremony, to be announced at a later date.

Ferretti, who recently completed work on “Cold Mountain” and “The Aviator,” will have a mixed-media exhibition of his Oscar-nominated work from “Gangs of New York” on display at the Camelot Theater in Palm Springs.