You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

10 make cut for Nicholl Fellowships

Up to five $30,000 awards up for grabs

Ten screenplays have made the final round for the 2003 Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

The scripts will be judged by the Nicholl Committee, which may award as many as five $30,000 fellowships.

This year’s finalists, selected from a record 6,048 scripts, include one Aussie entry as well as one from Canada. This year marks the first time Oz has been repped in the final 10; and coupled with Canada’s writer, 2003 is the first year since the program’s 1985 inception in which entries from two countries outside the U.S. made fellowship consideration.

Finalists are “Augmentation,” by Andrea R. Herman; “The Blessed Fellowship,” Michele Hackman; “The Bone Orchard,” Ronson Page; “Courting Destiny,” Bennett M. Cohen; “Linda and Henry,” Tejal K. Desai and Brian C. Wray; “The Nihilist, the Bag and the Rock ‘n’ Roll Launderette,” Brian M. Logan; “Random Thoughts on Self-Destruction,” Ryan M. Smith; “Revival,” Annie Reid; “Season of the Witch,” Bragi F. Schut Jr.; and “Trucker,” James N. Mottern.

The Nicholl Committee is chaired by writer Fay Kanin and comprises writers John Gay, Susannah Grant, Hal Kanter, Dan Petrie Jr., Tom Rickman and Steven Zaillian; cinematographer John Bailey; editor Mia Goldman; actor Eva Marie Saint;, producers David Nicksay and Buffy Shutt; and agent Ronald Mardigian.

The competition is open to those not having sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000 or received a fellowship or prize that includes a first-look clause, an option or any other quid pro quo involving the writer’s work.

Fellowship recipients are required to complete a feature-length screenplay during the fellowship year. Mike Rich, a 1998 fellow, wrote “Radio,” scheduled for release this month. His Nicholl entry script, “Finding Forrester,” was made into the feature released in 2000.

More Scene

  • Charlize Theron speaks at the GEANCO

    Charlize Theron Talks 'White Privilege,' Growing Up During Apartheid in South Africa

    Charlize Theron, during an onstage discussion with her “Gringo” costar David Oyelowo about philanthropy at Thursday’s annual fundraiser for Nigerian children’s educational and health program GEANCO, said she was a beneficiary of “white privilege” while growing up in Apartheid-torn South Africa. “I obviously am a white person who benefited from my white privilege,” Theron said [...]

  • Lyliana Wray, Sam Ashe Arnold, Miya

    ‘Are You Afraid of the Dark’ Revival Team on Living Up to the Series’ Legacy

    The 2019 revival of “Are You Afraid of the Dark?” centers around the Carnival of Doom, a place that star Jeremy Ray Taylor (“It Chapter Two”) describes as “beautiful on the outside, but…in the middle of it, there are definitely dark secrets. Variety caught up with the young star during a carnival-themed celebration at Row DTLA [...]

  • Charlize Theron'The Addams Family' film premiere,

    Charlize Theron Speaks Immigration, Diversity in ‘The Addams Family’

    They’re creepy, they’re kooky, and they’re an allegory for immigration in America.  Charlize Theron discussed the changing face of the nuclear family and her animated film, “The Addams Family,” with Variety at the movie’s recent premiere at the Century City Mall in Los Angeles. “When you think of [the Addams] being around since the sixties, [...]

  • Emma Stone attends the Los Angeles

    Emma Stone Talks 'Cruella' Transformation, New 'Zombieland' Sequel

    Despite inevitable comparisons to Glenn Close’s iconic turn as Cruella de Vil in 1996’s “101 Dalmatians,” Emma Stone teased that her take on the infamous villain in the upcoming “Cruella” movie will be very distinctive. “It comes long before her story,” Stone told Variety at the premiere of “Zombieland: Double Tap” at the Regency Village [...]

  • Gwyneth Paltrow arrives at the 2019

    Gwyneth Paltrow Honored at amfAR Gala

    Gwyneth Paltrow received one of this year’s courage awards at amfAR’s annual gala on Thursday night in Los Angeles. Paltrow’s longtime friends Dan Bucatinsky and Don Roos presented her with the award. “I didn’t prepare anything because I don’t think I really believe in thank you speeches, but I did want to thank amfAR for this,” [...]

  • Variety’s Power of Women Gift Bag

    Variety’s Power of Women Gift Bag: Sneak Peek

    While there are only so many cover honorees, everyone will go home a star this Power of Women Los Angeles. Each guest will receive a large Shopping Tote provided by The Little Market, and screen-printed by Homeboy Industries. Item inclusion ranges from product in entertainment, beauty, health, fashion, and more. Missed your chance to attend? [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content