You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Publicists fete top ‘Wing’ trio

Schlamme, Sorkin, Wells to share Television Showmanship Award

Hollywood publicists have tapped Thomas Schlamme, Aaron Sorkin and John Wells to share the Television Showmanship Award for their work on “The West Wing.”

Sorkin is the creator of the NBC series while Schlamme and Wells are co-exec producers. The trio will be honored at the 39th annual awards luncheon by the Publicists of the Intl. Cinematographers Guild.

“These creators and producers are being recognized for their outstanding contributions to television and their exceptional grasp of marketing concepts,” awards show chairman Henri Bollinger said.

Past honorees include Bob Hope, Ted Harbert, Chris Carter, Garry Marshall, Aaron Spelling, David Kelley, Norman Lear, Chris Albrecht, Steven Bochco, Grant Tinker and the team of Marcy Carsey, Tom Werner and Caryn Mandabach.

More TV

  • 'The Crown': Josh O'Connor, Erin Doherty

    'The Crown': Josh O'Connor, Erin Doherty on Charles and Anne 'Breaking the Mold'

    SPOILER ALERT: Do not read if you have not yet watched “The Crown” Season 3 on Netflix. The arrivals Prince Charles (Josh O’Connor) and Princess Anne (Erin Doherty) midway through “The Crown’s” third season infuse the show with a youthful energy reminiscent of the first two years. But, they also offer a sense of rebelliousness, shaking [...]

  • Mindy Kaling Actors on Actors

    Why Mindy Kaling Turned to Social Media to Find the Lead of Her Netflix Series

    Constance Wu (“Hustlers”) and Mindy Kaling (“Late Night”) explained how the internet helped expand the casting pool for their projects during a conversation for “Variety Studio: Actors on Actors.” Wu began the interview: “When I did ‘Crazy Rich Asians’ and they were looking for actors, it was crazy how many people said, ‘Well, there are [...]

  • SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE -- "Harry Styles"

    'Saturday Night Live' Turns the Impeachment Hearings Into a Soap Opera (Watch)

    “Saturday Night Live” kicked off its Nov. 16 episode with a take on the biggest news story of the previous week (and foreseeable future): the impeachment hearings. But another big story of the week, especially in Hollywood, was how NBC’s last remaining daytime drama, “Days of our Lives,” had let its actors out of their [...]

  • Andy Cohen attends BravoCon's "Watch What

    'The Real Housewives of Salt Lake City' to Debut in 2020

    Bravo announced Saturday during its first annual BravoCon that a tenth “Real Housewives” series, “The Real Housewives of Salt Lake City,” will debut in 2020. Bravo host and “Real Housewives” executive producer Andy Cohen made the announcement during a panel titled “Ask Andy” at the NYC convention. “We’ve always tried to choose a city that [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content