Int’l Emmys spread the wealth

Danes, Slovaks prized at retooled event

See winnersNEW YORK — The Intl. Academy of TV Arts & Sciences Monday unveiled the winners of the 30th Intl. Emmy Awards at a star-studded gala here, hosted by TV personality Donna Hanover. In a change from recent past editions, the British did not walk away with the majority of the seven programming awards.

Efforts by the Acad to expand the judging panels to far-flung regions of the world and to emphasize other TV traditions paid off with two inaugural wins — by the Danes for top drama and by the Slovak Republic for top doc.

The BBC did bring home a news coverage award and shared the trophy in the popular-arts category.

The kudos are among the most prestigious honors for non-American shows, though few, other than perhaps a British program or two, ever make it on air Stateside. But judging from the clips of the nominees shown during the ceremony, the quality of programming around the world has improved over the last decade — and the event itself was less labored and more energetic than in the past.

“The Intl. Academy is pleased to once again see that the top-quality global programming has won the Intl. Emmys, insuring the integrity of the award continues,” said Intl. Acad prexy Fred Cohen.

Aside from the programming categories, Sony chairman-CEO Howard Stringer was honored with the Founders Award for his “unique creative contributions to the arts and sciences of international TV.” Earlier in the day, Stringer told Intl. Academy members that we are now in “a transition from mass to mini media,” where “the top-down dictatorship” of media overlords will be superseded by a consumer-dominated world in which all content will be available anytime, anywhere, on all sorts of gadgets, and “no one will ever be home alone again.”

The Directorate Award went to Katsuji Ebisawa, prexy of Japan pubcaster NHK, in recognition of that org’s outstanding contributions to TV.

The Intl. Academy, chartered in 1969, is a division of the National Academy of TV Arts & Sciences.

Award presenters included Angela Lansbury, Joan Collins, Mia Farrow, Deborah Norville and Harry Smith, as well as “Hairspray” star Clark Thorell.

And the Int’l Emmy winners are. . .


“Unit One,” DRTV, Denmark


“Die Manns,” Bavaria, Germany


“Nicholas Winton: The Power of God,” WIP/Trigon, Slovak Republic


“Dracula — Pages From a Virgin’s Diary,” Vonnie Von Helmont Film, Canada


“The Kumars at No. 42,” Hat Trick for BBC, U.K.

“Faking It,” RDF Media for Channel Four, U.K.


“Fall of Kabul,” BBC, U.K.


“Stig of the Dump,” CBBC, U.K.


Katsuji Ebisawa, NHK president, Japan


Howard Stringer, chairman-CEO, Sony Corp. of America, U.S.


Star TV, India