BMI fetes songwriters

Williams, Arnold honored at BevWilshire

On two successive nights, BMI feted songwriters in the pop, TV and film realms, handing out more than 100 awards in ceremonies held at the Regent BevWilshire.

The big winner May 14 was 3 Doors Down’s Brad Arnold, who was named songwriter of the year, while on May 15 John Williams won four awards for his film scores; Mike Post was honored three times for his TV themes; and Danny Elfman, most recently composer of the score for “Spider-Man,” received the Richard Kirk Award for outstanding career achievement.

Arnold was 2001’s most performed songwriter on BMI’s roster, with four tunes from 3 Doors Down’s debut album “The Better Life” (Universal/Republic): “Be Like That,” “Duck and Run,” “Kryptonite” and “Loser.” Those songs spearheaded Songs of Universal’s win for pop publisher of the year.

Org also bestowed Icon awards to Rock andRoll Hall of Famers Chuck Berry, Little Richard and Bo Diddley. Ivan Neville, Jonny Lang, George Thorogood and Mavis Staples led a half-hour jam in tribute to the honorees.

Pop songwriters were also well-represented at the Film Awards. In addition to Elfman, who first came to prominence as the leader of Oingo Boingo, awards were handed out to BT for “The Fast and the Furious,” Moby for the 2002 Winter Olympics, Paul Oakenfold for “Swordfish,” David Holmes for “Ocean’s Eleven” and Mark Mothersbaugh for “Rugrats.”