The ASCAP composers responsible for music in 2001’s most popular films and the most performed television music were honored Tuesday at the performing rights association’s 17th annual Film & Television Music Awards gala at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Film composer Alan Silvestri received the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award in recognition of his achievements and contributions to the world of film and TV music. Robert Zemeckis presented the award to Silvestri, whose credits include all three “Back to the Future” films, “Cast Away” and “Forrest Gump.”

The ASCAP Foundation lifetime achievement award was presented to Van Alexander, who has worked as a composer, arranger, songwriter, author, conductor and bandleader for more than six decades. His popular songbook includes “A-Tisket, A-Tasket,” co-written with Ella Fitzgerald.

Composer John Debney was recognized for his scores from three features: “Cats & Dogs,” “Spy Kids” and “The Princess Diaries.” His also scored current box office topper “The Scorpion King.”

Songwriter-composers Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman, better known as Wendy & Lisa, received one of the top TV series awards for their theme and underscore to NBC’s “Crossing Jordan.”

Other film composers honored were Alejandro Amenabar (“The Others”), Tan Dun (“Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon”), James Newton Howard (“America’s Sweethearts”), David Lawrence (“American Pie 2”), Randy Newman (“Monsters, Inc.”), John Powell (“Shrek”), Howard Shore (“The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring”), Silvestri (“The Mummy Returns”) and Hans Zimmer (“Hannibal,” “Pearl Harbor”).

The most performed songs from motion pictures were “Get Ur Freak On” (“Lara Croft: Tomb Raider”), “Independent Women Part 1” (“Charlie’s Angels”), “Lady Marmalade” (“Moulin Rouge!”), “Put It on Me” (“The Fast and the Furious”) and “There You’ll Be” (“Pearl Harbor”).

Winners for most performed TV themes were Frank Catanzaro, Dan Foliart, Steven Kaplan, James Latham, Branford Marsalis and Shore. Winners for most performed underscores on TV were Jack Allocco, Denis Hannigan, Michael Karp, David Kurtz and Mark Snow.