‘Alias,’ ‘Lagaan’ step up

Choreographers feted at annual awards

The choreographers behind “Lagaan,” “Alias” and “That ’70s Show” were among the winners at Sunday’s eighth annual American Choreography Awards at L.A.’s Orpheum Theater.

Saroj Khan, Raju Khan, Ganesh Hegde, Vaibhavi Merchant and Terence Lewis were feted for “Lagaan” in the feature film category; John Medlen took honors for fight choreography for “Truth Be Told,” an episode of “Alias”; and the winner for achievement in TV, episodic or sitcom, was Marguerite Derricks for “That ’70s Musical,” an episode of “That ’70s Show.”

Paterson wins

At the kudofest, which benefits nonprofit org Academy of Dance on Film, other winners were: Vincent Paterson for “Soldier,” a Rubbermaid TV spot (Commercials); Anwar “Flii” Burton, Rosero McCoy, Todd Sams, Jamal Sims, Devyne Stephens, Earl “Punch” Wright and Russell “Goofy” Wright for Usher’s “You Don’t Have to Call” (musicvid); and Ashley Roland, Jamey Hampton and Mitchell Rose for “Modern Daydreams” (Short Film).

There was a tie in the TV category between “Aeros” (Daniel Ezralow, David Parsons and Moses Pendleton) and the opening ceremony of the 2002 Salt Lake City Winter Olympics (Kenny Ortega, Sarah Kawahara and Doug Jack).

Special honors were given to Jackie Chan (Innovator Award), Russell Clark (Governor’s Award), Henry LeTang (Educator Award) and Marge and Gower Champion (Career Achievement Award).