HOLLYWOOD — Thirty-two students from 18 U.S. colleges and universities have been tapped as finalists for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences’ 29th Student Academy Awards.

Awards in four categories — alternative, animation, documentary and narrative — will be handed out June 9 at the Acad’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Alternative contenders are: “Birju,” Heeraz Marfatia, San Francisco State; “Counterfeit Film,” Brett Simon, Berkeley; “For Our Man,” Kazuo Ohno, Columbia U.; “From Island to Island,” Soopum Sohn, NYU; “Interlude,” Elizabeth Randall, Cornish College of the Arts; “Legalized America,” Michael Ball, Boston U.; and “Newton,” Peter Sattler and Jeff Mason, North Carolina School of the Arts.

In the toon category, selections are: “Ash Sunday,” Corrie Francis, Dartmouth U.; “Blind Date,” Chris Choy, CalArts; “Floating,” Chansoo Kim, USC; “Gladden,” Ian Butterfield, Ohio State U.; “Passing Moments,” Don Phillips Jr., Ringling School of Art & Design; “Shadowplay,” Dan Blank, NYU; “Trilemma,” Ye Won Cho, School of Visual Arts; and “The Velvet Tigress,” Jen Sachs, CalArts.

Top docs

Duking it out in the docu category will be “Back to Back,” Heather Lenz, USC; “Become the Sky,” Laura Dunn, U. of Texas-Austin; “Family Values,” Eva Saks, NYU; “Moving House,” Pin Pin Tan, Northwestern U.; “Precipice,” Elizabeth Witham and Biz James, Stanford U.; and “Revolutions Per Minute,” Thomas Burns, StanfordU.

Repping the narrative field are: “Barrier Device,” Grace Lee, UCLA; “Get Outta Here,” Tony Shaff, North Carolina School of the Arts; “Mboutoukou,” Victor Viyuoh, USC; “Remote Control,” Ivan Zivkovic and Peter Veverka, AFI; “Slo-Mo,” John Krokidas, NYU; “Sophie,” Helen Haeyoung Lee, U. of Texas-Austin; “Train Wreck,” Michael Sedlacek, Columbia U.; and “The Wormhole,” Jessica Sharzer, NYU.

Finalists are voted upon by Acad members, who can present awards to as many as three pics in each category. Along with trophies, gold medal winners in each of the four categories receive $5,000, silver winners take home $3,000 and bronze recipients get $2,000.