HOLLYWOOD — SAG has tapped former treasurer and board member F.J. O’Neil to receive the Ralph Morgan Award for his service to the guild.

Award, named after the first president of the Screen Actors Guild, is given periodically for “devotion to the cause of actors, courage to fight for the right and sacrifice of self for others.” It will be presented June 2 during the guild’s Hollywood midyear membership meeting at the Sheraton Universal.

“F.J.’s unfailing devotion to performers’ rights and his countless hour of guild service during the past 25 years make him the perfect recipient of Hollywood’s highest award,” said Paul Napier, national honors and tributes committee chair.

Previous recipients include past SAG presidents Ed Asner, Dennis Weaver and William Schallert; national executive directors Ken Orsatti, Jack Dales and Chester Migden; and members John Randolph, Warren Kemmerling, Kent McCord, Ann Doran, Marie Windsor and Ron Soble.

O’Neil began his board service in 1976 and was elected 12th VP in 1981, 4th VP in 1985 and national treasurer in 1993. He held the treasurer’s post until choosing not to run for re-election last year.