Acad foundation reups Bergman

New, re-elected members named

HOLLYWOOD — Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences music branch governor Alan Bergman has been reupped as president of the Academy Foundation, the Acad’s educational and cultural arm.

Bergman has served three terms as Foundation prexy (1992-1995).

Re-elected to her VP post was writers branch governor Fay Kanin. Music branch governor Arthur Hamilton segued from treasurer to veep, while film editors branch governor Donn Cambern nabbed the treasurer slot. Public relations branch governor Sid Ganis was named secretary.

New Foundation trustees named by the Academy board of governors are Ganis and Cambern; short films and feature animation branch governor Jon Bloom; directors branch governor Gil Cates; public relations branch governor Cheryl Boone Isaacs; and executives branch governor Bill Mechanic.

Re-elected trustees are Bergman, Kanin and Hamilton; Dede Allen, film editors; Charles Bernstein, music; Conrad Hall, cinematographers; Mark Johnson, producers; Roger L. Mayer and Robert Rehme, executives; Frank R. Pierson, writers; and Donald C. Rogers, sound.

Acad exec director Bruce Davis remains Foundation executive secretary.

The Academy Foundation was established in 1942 to oversee all of the org’s educational, preservation and cultural activities. Its trustees and officers serve one-year terms.