Legiters bow kudos

Cumming, Scott host first National Broadway Theater Awards

The first National Broadway Theater Awards were handed out Monday night at a ceremony at the Supper Club hosted by Alan Cumming and Sherie Rene Scott.

The awards, sponsored by the League of American Theaters & Producers, honor achievement in touring Broadway shows and are voted on by consumers.

Winners on hand to collect their awards included Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens, composer and lyricist, respectively, of best song winner ” ‘Til We Reach That Day” from “Ragtime.”

“We closed one show one night, and accepted an award the next,” Ahrens observed wryly, referring to “Seussical,” which played its last perf the night before. “But that’s the show biz,” she said.

Entertainment included selections from winners “Ragtime” (musical), “Les Miserables” (score) and “Parade” (led by best actor in a musical winner David Pittu).

Showbiz notables in attendance included thesps Robert Sean Leonard, Brian Stokes Mitchell and Ben Vereen as well as producers Barry and Fran Weissler and League prexy Jed Bernstein, who kicked off the ceremony.