Sundance picks 13 lab projects

Scribes, helmers to develop new work with experienced filmmakers

The Sundance Institute has selected 13 projects for the annual Filmmakers and Screenwriters Labs, to take place May 29-June 28 at the Sundance Village in Utah.

The labs offer emerging directors and scribes the opportunity to develop new works guided by experienced filmmakers in an atmosphere of collaboration and innovation. Last year’s Sundance fave “Hedwig and the Angry Inch” was developed at the lab from the successful play.

“This is the 20th anniversary of the … Lab,” said Michelle Satter, founding director of the project. “We have been truly honored to work with many filmmakers who have defined and challenged the definition of independent film, including Quentin Tarantino, Allison Anders, Paul T. Anderson, Tony Bui, Gregory Nava, Kimberly Peirce, Miguel Arteta, Gregg Araki and John Cameron Mitchell, among many others.”

Latest class

The participants and projects selected for the 2001 June Filmmakers Lab are:

Writer-director Laurie Collyer, “Flesh and Blood”; writer-director Lisa Collins, “The Grass Is Greener”; Derick and Steven Martini, co-writers/co-directors of “Lymelife”; co-writer-director Tatia Rosenthal and co-writer Etgar Keret, “$9.99”; writer-director Jono Oliver, “The Other Ones”; writer-director Jamie Mayer, “Painless.”

Also: writer-director Alex Rivera, “The Sleep Dealer”; writer-director Hilary Brougher, “Stephanie Daley”; Jacob and Josh Kornbluth, co-writers/co-directors, “The Best Thief in the World”; writer Jessica Hagedorn, “Dogeaters”; writer-director Meng Ong, “Chinese Ghost Wedding”; writer-director Christa Collins, “P.O.V”; and writer-director Peter Sollett, “Untitled Peter Sollett Project.”

Filmmakers will work with many creative advisers, among them being artistic director Gyula Gazdag, Jane Anderson, Paris Barclay, Antonia Bird, Hume Cronyn, Alfonso Cuaron, Ted Demme, Roger Donaldson, Chris McQuarrie, Ron Nyswaner, Frank Oz, Dean Parisot, Robert Redford, Bryan Singer, Stanley Tucci, Jon Turteltaub, Denzel Washington, and Sigourney Weaver.