Nine nommed for student Oscar kudos

Awards to be given out June 10

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences and the American Museum of the Moving Image have selected nine New York-region finalists in four categories for the 28th annual Student Academy Awards, to take place June 10 in Los Angeles.

The nine student filmmakers will travel to L.A. in a few weeks to take part in the national finals, which will determine who’ll ultimately be student Oscar nominees.

Finalists in the narrative category — voted on via secret ballot by academy members — are NYU’s Victor Buhler (“Chaperone”), Columbia U.’s Rona Mark and Jennifer Smith (“Finbar Lebowitz”) and Columbia U.’s David Kartch (“Zen and the Art of Landscaping”).

Animation category finalists are the Pratt Institute’s Christopher Timmons (“Excuses, Excuses”) and the Rochester Institute of Technology’s Peter Postma (“Fear of Frowning”); alternative category finalists are NYU’s Patrick Daughters (“Any Creature”) and the School of Visual Arts’ Michael Schaerer (“Warmth”); documentary finalists are Sophie Goodhart (“Homers”) and Rafael Del Toro (“The Playroom”), both of NYU.

The winners were culled from 112 films submitted by full-time students in accredited U.S. colleges in the New York state-Puerto Rico area.