A tech Oscar first for Pixar

Kudos ceremony slated for March 3

This article was corrected on Jan. 9, 2001.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences will present 17 Oscars for scientific and technical achievement at a ceremony at the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel on March 3.

Renderman software, created by Rob Cook, Loren Carpenter and Ed Catmull, of Pixar, will be awarded “the first Oscar statuette ever specifically given for the development of computer software,” Academy president Robert Rehme said.

The software, which allows multi-element computer-created scenes to be seamlessly and invisibly composited with other footage, has been used in such films as “Toy Story” and its sequel, and “The Matrix.”

Academy plaques for achievement will also be given for the following:

  • AKAI Digital for the design and development of the DD8 Plus Digital audio dubber.

  • Fairlight for the design and development of the DaD digital audio dubber.

  • Advanced Digital Systems Group for the design and development of the Sony DADR 5000 digital audio dubber.

  • Timeline for the design and development of the MMR 8 digital audio dubber.

  • Joe Wary, Gerald Painter and Colin F. Mossman for the design and development of the Deluxe Laboratories Multi-Roller Film Transport System.

Academy certificates for achievement will be given for the following:

  • Vic Armstrong for the refinement and application to the film industry of the Fan Descender, which provides safety for stuntpersons performing free falls.

  • Bill Tondreau of Kuper Systems, Alvah J. Miller and Paul Johnson of Lynx Robotics, and David Stump of Visual Effects Rental Services for the conception, design and development of data capture systems that enable superior accuracy in the creation of composite imagery.

  • Leonard Pincus, Ashot Nalbandyan, George Johnson and Tom Kong for the Softsun low pressure xenon long-arc light sources, their power supplies and fixtures.

  • Glenn Berggren for the concept, Horst Linge for research and development, and Wolfgang Reineke for the final design and production of the Isco-Optic lenses for motion picture projection.

  • Udo Schauss and Karl Lenhardt for the optical design, and Ralf Linn and Norbert Brinker for the mechanical design of the Schneider Super Cinelux lenses for motion picture projection.

  • Philip Greenstreet of Rosco Laboratories for the concept and development of the Roscolight Day/Night Backdrop.

  • Venkat Krishnamurthy for the creation of the Paraform Software for 3D Digital Form Development.

  • George Borshukov, Kim Libreri and Dan Piponi for the development of a system for image-based rendering allowing choreographed camera movements through computer graphic reconstructed sets.

  • John Pytlak for the development of the Laboratory Aim Density system.

Academy plaques will also be given for the following Scientific and Engineering Awards:

  • Alvah J. Miller and Paul Johnson of Lynx Robotics for the electronic and software design of the Lynx C-50 Camera Motor System.

  • Al Mayer Sr. and Al Mayer Jr., for the mechanical design, Iain Neil for the optical design and Brian Dang for the electronic design for the Panavision Millennium XL Camera System.