HOLLYWOOD — Veteran thespians Warren Kemmerling and John Randolph have been named recipients of the Ralph Morgan award for service to the Hollywood branch of the Screen Actors Guild.

“John and Warren’s devotion and loyalty to the Hollywood acting community is legendary and richly deserves to be recognized by the highest honor the Hollywood branch can bestow,” said SAG prexy William Daniels. “John and Warren have consistently fought for the rights of working actors in Hollywood and given countless hours of service to performers during the nearly 44 years they’ve spent elected by our members to the guild’s national board of directors.”

The award, named after SAG’s first president, will be presented at the guild’s midyear membership meeting at 1 p.m. Sunday at the Sheraton Universal Hotel. Past recipients include Ed Asner, Jack Dales, Ann Doran, Kent McCord, Chester Migden, Ken Orsatti, William Schallert, Ron Soble, Dennis Weaver and Marie Windsor.

Varied careers

Kemmerling’s feature credits include “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “The Cheyenne Social Club”; TV credits include “The A-Team,” “The Bionic Woman,” “Bonanza,” “I Dream of Jeannie,” “Perry Mason,” “Murder She Wrote,” “The Rockford Files,” “The Virginian” and “The Waltons.”

Randolph debuted on Broadway in 1938 in “Medicine Show” and in features a decade later in “The Naked City.” His career was interrupted by blacklisting but renewed in 1966 with a role in “Seconds.” Feature credits include “All the President’s Men,” “Serpico,” “Prizzi’s Honor” and “Frances” while TV credits include “Lucas Tanner,” “Roseanne,” “Angie” and “Grand.”

Randolph won a Tony and Drama Desk Award in 1987 for “Broadway Bound.”