Primetime Emmy Winners: Drama Series Actress

Note: The names of award categories have changed dramatically through the years. Where the difference is significant, the actual title is cited in parentheses below. If the series also won another major program award — like Outstanding New Series, back in the days when there was such a category — it’s also noted. Missing years indicate that the award categories were dropped.

1956 Loretta Young, The Loretta Young Show

1957 Jane Wyatt, Father Knows Best (Best Actress, Drama or Comedy Series)

1958-59 Loretta Young, The Loretta Young Show

1959-60 Jane Wyatt, Father Knows Best (Best Actress in a Series)

1960-61 Barbara Stanwyck, The Barbara Stanwyck Show (Outstanding Actress in a Series)

1965-66 Barbara Stanwyck, The Big Valley

1966-67 Barbara Bain, Mission: Impossible

1967-68 Barbara Bain, Mission: Impossible

1968-69 Barbara Bain, Mission: Impossible

1969-70 Susan Hampshire, The First Churchills, Masterpiece Theatre

1971-72 Glenda Jackson, Elizabeth R, Masterpiece Theatre

1972-73 Michael Learned, The Waltons

1973-74 Michael Learned, The Waltons

1974-75 Jean Marsh, Upstairs, Downstairs, Masterpiece Theatre

1975-76 Michael Learned, The Waltons

1976-77 Lindsay Wagner, The Bionic Woman

1977-78 Sada Thompson, Family

1978-79 Mariette Hartley, The Incredible Hulk

1979-80 Barbara Bel Geddes, Dallas

1980-81 Barbara Babcock, Hill Street Blues

1981-82 Michael Learned, Nurse

1982-83 Tyne Daly, Cagney & Lacey

1983-84 Tyne Daly, Cagney & Lacey

1984-85 Tyne Daly, Cagney & Lacey

1985-86 Sharon Gless, Cagney & Lacey

1986-87 Sharon Gless, Cagney & Lacey

1987-88 Tyne Daly, Cagney & Lacey

1988-89 Dana Delaney, China Beach

1989-90 Patricia Wettig, thirtysomething

1990-91 Patricia Wettig, thirtysomething

1991-92 Dana Delaney, China Beach

1992-93 Kathy Baker, Picket Fences

1993-94 Sela Ward, Sisters

1994-95 Kathy Baker, Picket Fences

1995-96 Kathy Baker, Picket Fences

1996-97 Gillian Anderson, The X-Files

1997-98 Christine Lahti, Chicago Hope

1998-99 Edie Falco, The Sopranos

1999-00 ?????

More TV

  • Another-Life-Netflix

    TV Review: 'Another Life'

    Netflix’s new series “Another Life” brings Katee Sackhoff back into space, a decade after the conclusion of “Battlestar Galactica,” the beloved series on which she starred. But her new series looks more like the rest of the fare on the SyFy network — it’s inelegantly made and operates less in the realm of ideas than [...]

  • Vince McMahon WWE

    Vince McMahon Out of Excuses for WWE Woes

    When World Wrestling Entertainment reported its sluggish first-quarter performance in April, CEO Vince McMahon blamed it on “superstar absences,” the temporary sidelining of many of his star grapplers due to injuries accumulated in 2018 and early 2019. But now that WWE is on the verge of releasing its second-quarter numbers on July 25, McMahon is [...]

  • How Cooking-Travel Shows Are Changing TV

    How Cooking-Travel Shows Are Changing TV

    Toyo hunches over his street food stove, cooking tuna with a blow torch, stopping to light his cigarette with it and produce a cheeky grin. The Japanese chef, who owns a roadside stand in the city of Osaka, is one of many highlighted in the Netflix series “Street Food.” Over the course of 30 minutes, [...]


    SAG-AFTRA Leaders Approve Proposal for New Film-TV Contract

    The SAG-AFTRA national board has approved proposals for a successor deal to its master contract covering feature film and primetime television — a key step in the upcoming negotiations cycle with companies. The board approved the package Saturday with the performers union declining to reveal any specifics — its usual policy. The board established the wages [...]

  • Shannen Doherty'Jennie Garth: A Little Bit

    Shannen Doherty Joins 'Riverdale' Season 4 in Luke Perry Tribute

    “Riverdale” is planning to make a special tribute to Luke Perry. The show’s executive producer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa announced at Comic-Con that Shannen Doherty, Perry’s longtime friend and “Beverly Hills 90210” co-star, will guest star in the season 4 premiere. The tribute episode will “reflect Perry’s enduring legacy and the indelible imprint his character” Fred Andrews [...]

  • Supernatural CW

    'Supernatural' Team Gets Emotional Final Season Sendoff at Comic-Con

    The cast and creative team of “Supernatural” bid a fond farewell to the attendees of San Diego Comic-Con on Sunday. At the show’s final panel in the gargantuan Hall H, the team thanked the fans for all of their support over the years as the series prepares to enter its final season. “I’m trying not [...]

  • Alicia Rodis photographed by Alicia Rodis

    SAG-AFTRA Moves to Standardize Guidelines for Intimacy Coordinators

    SAG-AFTRA is moving to standardize guidelines for intimacy coordinators as part of an effort to establish policies for union members when their work involves nudity and simulated sex. “Our goal is to normalize and promote the use of intimacy coordinators within our industry,” said SAG-AFTRA president Gabrielle Carteris. “Intimacy coordinators provide an important safety net for [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content