WNBC to televise New York awards

Parker, Noth to host

WNBC will try to stamp the “New York Magazine Awards” on the mass-audience map by televising the ceremony for the first time since the mag began handing out prizes in 1996.

Hosted by Sarah Jessica Parker and Chris Noth (two stars of HBO’s “Sex & the City”), the hour-long telecast will take place on the stage of NBC’s Studio 8H on Dec. 6 for telecasting on Dec. 13 at 7 p.m.

Ten New Yorkers will get awards, in categories ranging from sports and film to fashion and politics. Clive Davis, Arista Records topper, will get the 1999 lifetime-achievement award, which last year went to the baseball great Willie Mays.

New York magazine’s year-end double issue will profile the 10 winners of the 1999 awards. Charles Schwab is main sponsor of the awards. Other sponsors are Fairmont Hotels and Resorts, General Motors, Macy’s, Ralph Lauren Romance and Snap.com.

Dianne Doctor is executive producer of the telecast, and Stephanie Fisch is the producer.