Pix in mix for Sundance Institute labs

Filmmakers, scribes to gather for a month of creative interaction

The Sundance Institute has announced 12 feature film projects selected for the 1999 Filmmakers/ Screenwriters Lab.

The emerging filmmakers will convene June 1 at the Sundance Resort in Utah for a monthlong opportunity to work with creative advisers in a two-part lab that will bring in professional actors and production crews to work on the projects. In the fourth week, writers will join the group to participate in story conferences with the advisers.

This year’s participating creative advisers include Scott Alexander, Jon Amiel, Alice Arlen, Jon Avnet, Michael Caton-Jones, Alfonso Cuaron, Joan Darling, Nelson George, P.J. Hogan, Reginald Hudlin, Larry Karaszewski, Michael Lehmann, Mira Nair, Robert Redford, Gary Ross, Lynn Siefert, Ed Solomon and Jon Turtletaub. Gyula Gazdag will serve as the artistic director for this year’s Lab.

Projected projects

Filmmakers and projects selected for the 1999 Filmmakers Lab are writer-director John Cameron Mitchell, “Hedwig and the Angry Inch,” for which he has won an Obie Award and the Outer Critics Circle Award for best Off Broadway musical; Columbia U. film school grad Patrick Stettner, “The Business of Strangers”; NYU Film School alum Debra Granik, “Down to the Bone”; Attica Locke, “59”; Perry Lin, “Hell”; Leslie McCleave, “The Shamrocks”; Princess Peter-Raboff, “The Silent Raven”; and Tanya Hamilton, “Stringbean and Marcus.”

The Screenwriters Lab participants are Kirby Dick (“Beyond the Pleasure Principle”), Jennette Montalvo (“The Dictator’s Fruit”), Anne Kugler and Peggy Ahwesh (“How Nature Works”) and Shainee Gable (“A Love Song for Bobby Long”).

The institute continues its support of Lab projects throughout the development and production process by assisting the filmmakers in finding financing and production resources year-round.

Over the past 19 years, the Filmmakers Lab has fostered the early work of Paul Thomas Anderson, Anna Deavere Smith, Tamara Jenkins, Chris Eyre, James Mangold, Walter Mosley, Rick Famuyiwa, Quentin Tarantino, Julie Taymor, Boaz Yakin and Sherman Alexie.