PEN West literary awards honor Roos, nine others

Woodrell, Brody receive nods

Screenwriter Don Roos (“The Opposite of Sex”), novelist Daniel Woodrell (“Tomato Red”) and non-fiction writer Leslie Brody (“Red Star Sister”) are among the winners of PEN Center USA West’s literary awards competition, announced Wednesday.

The awards honor works published in 1998 by writers living in the western United States. PEN West’s annual awards program, established in 1982, awards writers in 10 categories, including playwrights, journalists, novelists and poets.

The $1,000 cash prizes will be presented on Oct. 28 during a dinner in Los Angeles.

PEN also announced that literary and cultural critic Leslie Fiedler will receive the Body of Work Award in Criticism.

The other winners:

  • Elliott West, for “The Contested Plains: Indians, Goldseekers, and the Rush to Colorado,” in research non-fiction;

  • B.H. Fairchild, “The Art of the Lathe,” poetry;

  • Gary Soto, “Petty Crimes,” children’s literature;

  • Carol Masciola, “Mr. Maxwell’s Baby” (The Orange County Register), journalism;

  • Julie Hebert, “The Knee Desires the Dirt” (Women’s Project Prods.), drama;

  • Nicholas Meyer, “The Informant” (Showtime), teleplay.

PEN is an international association of professional writers created in 1921.

For further information, call (213) 365-8500.