Noms out for Parks Awards

Five helmers, five writers named

The Independent Feature Project has announced director and writer finalists for the third annual Gordon Parks Awards.

Named after the prominent photographer and director, awards honor achievements by black independent filmmakers. Each prize carries $10,000 and is given each year to one director and one writer.

The five director finalists are Cauleen Smith (whose debut “Drylongso” topped this year’s Urbanworld Film Festival) for her short “The Changing Same”; Desmond Hall for “A Day in Black and White”; Charles Hall for “Are You Cinderella?”; LaTrice Dixon for her short “Book of Ezekiel”; and Zeinabu Irene Davis for “Compensation.”

The scriptwriter finalists are Tanya Hamilton for “Stringbean and Marcus” (Urbanworld’s best screenplay); Lana Garland for “Soon Come”; Regional Emmy-winner David Grant for “Trouble”; Walt Disney Screenwriting Fellow Edgar Cancel for “The Two Aces”; and Jon Gary for “Watts Super Sista Girl.”

Jury includes Parks, thesp Delroy Lindo and SAG New York VP Kim Sykes.

The two winners will be announced at a ceremony being held at the DGA Theater on Sept. 18 as part of IFFM.