Lensers org fetes Beatty

Thesp recognized for 'artistic achievement'

Warren Beatty will receive the American Society of Cinematographers’ Governors Award when the group holds its annual prize ceremony on Feb. 20.

ASC president Victor J. Kemper said Beatty “has set high standards for artistic achievement as an actor, director, writer and producer.”

The Governors Award is the only prize that ASC reserves for non-cinematographers. Beatty, the 10th recipient of the award in the 80-year history of ASC, joins a group of past winners that includes Gregory Peck, Charles Champlin, Sheldon Leonard, Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese, Jodie Foster, Robert Wise, Francis Ford Coppola and Robert Altman.

Beatty won an Oscar in 1982 for directing “Reds.” He also received Academy Award nominations for “Bulworth” (1999), for best original screenplay; “Bugsy” (1992), best actor and picture; “Reds,” best actor, picture and screenplay; “Heaven Can Wait” (1979), best actor, picture and screenplay; “Shampoo” (1976), best original screenplay; and “Bonnie and Clyde” (1968), best actor and picture.

He has also won five Golden Globes.

Two cinematographers who worked with Beatty — Burnett Guffey (“Bonnie and Clyde,” directed by Arthur Penn) and Vittorio Storaro (“Reds”) — won Oscars for their work. Their colleague Bill Fraker, who shot “Heaven Can Wait,” is this year’s ASC lifetime achievement award recipient.

“It isn’t a coincidence that our members keep winning awards for artistic achievements for films that are either directed or produced by Warren Beatty,” Kemper said. “He recognizes and appreciates the potential of visual storytelling, and he gives cinematographers the creative latitude they need to help him realize his goals.”

The 14th annual ASC Awards show will take place at the Century Plaza Hotel. For info, call (323) 969-4333.

More Film

  • J.R. “Bob” Dobbs and the Church

    SXSW Film Review: 'J.R. “Bob” Dobbs and the Church of the SubGenius'

    Like 8mm films of 1960s “happenings” or videos of 1970s performance art, “J.R. ‘Bob’ Dobbs and the Church of the SubGenius” chronicles a cultural footnote that perhaps should be filed under the heading You Had to Be There. The satirical-absurdist “religion” founded by some Texans actually caught fire among hipsters in the 1980s, influencing some [...]

  • 'Roll Red Roll' Review: Piercing Documentary

    Film Review: 'Roll Red Roll'

    “Roll Red Roll” is a piercingly relevant and disturbing documentary about an infamous high school rape case that took place in Steubenville, Ohio (pop. 18,600), on Aug. 11, 2012. Steubenville, the sort of Friday-night-lights small town that boasts signs that read “Kick off for Jesus,” is a place that’s good at keeping secrets. When the [...]

  • Contract Placeholder Business WGA ATA Agent

    Writers Guild, Hollywood Agents Negotiate With Deadline Looming

    The Writers Guild of America and Hollywood agents have held a sixth negotiating session with a deadline for a new deal 16 days away — and it’s uncertain whether progress is being made. The Association of Talent Agents made counter-proposals at Thursday’s session that contain provisions for more accountability and transparency by agencies for clients [...]

  • Fox Layoffs

    Fox Layoffs Leave Staffers Stunned and Saddened

    Fox employees knew this day was coming. For over a year, the men and women who work at the Century City lot have talked of little else but severance packages and job searches. They knew that when Disney wrapped up its $71.3 billion acquisition of much of 21st Century Fox’s film and television assets, thousands [...]

  • Alan Horn Disney

    Disney Clarifies Film Leadership After Harrowing Day of Fox Layoffs

    Following the dismissal of top executives in distribution, marketing and strategy on Thursday, new 20th Century Fox owner Disney has clarified its new top leadership. Five distinct Fox labels and a portion of their leadership have been welcomed into the Disney fold, the company said. This includes Twentieth Century Fox, Fox Family, Fox Searchlight Pictures, [...]

  • Janelle Monae

    Film News Roundup: Janelle Monae to Star in Film From Gerard Bush, Christopher Renz

    In today’s film news roundup, Janelle Monae will star in a Lionsgate movie, Bill Nighy joins “Emma,” and documentaries on surfer Bethany Hamilton and Asbury Park are dated. CASTINGS Janelle Monae will star in an untitled Lionsgate movie directed by the duo Gerard Bush and Christopher Renz. The film will be produced by QC Entertainment’s Ray [...]

  • Blair Rich Marketing Summit

    Studio Marketing Chiefs Discuss the Theatrical vs. Netflix Oscars Debate

    On a day where a large part of the Fox marketing department was wiped out in the aftermath of the Disney merger, a group of marketing chiefs from other studios and streamers sat down at the Variety Entertainment Marketing Summit presented by Deloitte “to discuss the issues shaping the feature marketing landscape today, including the theatrical [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content