‘Kings’ takes gold

Russell's pic, 'Boys' the big winners in Boston

BOSTON — “Three Kings” and “Boys Don’t Cry” were the big winners at the annual meeting of the Boston Society of Film Critics, held Dec. 12 at the Lenox Hotel in Boston. They were the only multiple award winners in an afternoon of spirited balloting that saw quick consensus in most categories.

The adventure dramedy “Three Kings,” about three American soldiers trying to steal Kuwaiti gold from Iraq following the Gulf War, was named best picture, edging out “American Beauty” and “The Talented Mr. Ripley.” Director David O. Russell also got the nod, with “Ripley’s” Anthony Minghella the runner-up. The selection of best helmer was the most contentious of the day, going to four ballots.

Swank swallows competish

Hilary Swank was named best actress for “Boys Don’t Cry.” The only nominee to win in a single round of balloting, Swank plays a young woman who lives life as a man in a small Midwestern town with tragic results. Chloe Sevigny, who plays her romantic interest, was named best supporting actress, with Catherine Keener (“Being John Malkovich”) coming in second.

Popular on Variety

“Boys” director Kimberly Peirce topped “Malkovich’s” Spike Jonze for the title of best new filmmaker of the year.

Jim Carrey was named best actor for his portrayal of the late comedian Andy Kaufman in “Man on the Moon.” It was the most competitive race, with a three-way tie for the runner-up position: Kevin Spacey, (“American Beauty”) Russell Crowe (“The Insider”) and Matt Damon in (“The Talented Mr. Ripley”).

Plummer plumbs nod

Christopher Plummer, who played “60 Minutes” anchor Mike Wallace in “The Insider,” edged out Haley Joel Osment, the young boy in “The Sixth Sense,” for best supporting actor.

Charlie Kaufman’s script for “Being John Malkovich” was named best screenplay of the year, with Alexander Payne’s “Election” coming in second.

In the best foreign film category, Pedro Almodovar’s “All About My Mother” came in ahead of French pic “The Dreamlife of Angels.” The cinematography award went to Emmanuel Lubezki’s work on “Sleepy Hollow,” with John Seale’s photography on “The Talented Mr. Ripley” getting honorable mention. Best documentary went to the little-seen “Hands on a Hard Body.”