DGA Honors to fete New Line’s Shaye

Gephardt, O'Donnell, Scorsese, Austin Fest also awarded

New Line Cinema chairman Robert Shaye will join Martin Scorsese and others in the lineup of recipients of the first Directors Guild of America Honors on Nov. 21 in New York.

Shaye, who founded New Line in 1967, is being honored as a “pioneer of the independent film movement” who has served as a mentor to many indie filmmakers, said DGA national VP Ed Sherin, exec producer of “Law and Order.”

At the age of 15, Shaye shared with Scorsese the first prize in the Society of Cinematologists’ Rosenthal competition for films made by directors under 25 years of age.

The DGA’s new awards program celebrates individuals and organizations that have contributed to national and regional filmmaking in the U.S.

In addition to Shaye and Scorsese, this year’s honorees will be Rep. Richard Gephardt (D-Mo.), who has supported creative rights legislation; Thomas O’Donnell, president of Teamsters Local 817, who upheld workers’ rights while encouraging production in New York; and the Austin Film Society, founded in 1985 by director Richard Linklater (“Slacker,” “Dazed and Confused”).

Awards event will take place at the Hilton Hotel.