AFMA taps Morgan

Goldman elected vice chairman

Kathy Morgan was elected chairman of the American Film Marketing Assn. at the org’s annual membership meeting Wednesday.

Morgan, who is only the second person to run unopposed in the trade association’s 20-year history, will serve the 142-member organization for a two-year term. She succeeds William A. Shields, who led AFMA for the past two years.

Morgan has been AFMA’s vice chairman and secretary for the past three years and a member of the board of directors for 14 years.

Morgan also chairs Kathy Morgan Intl., a company specializing in international movie sales, distribution, finance and marketing.

Michael Goldman of Cinema Consultants, who also ran unopposed, was elected vice chairman. Goldman previously served two terms as chairman.

In the only challenged race, for vice chairman, Todd Leavitt of Tulip Media snagged the victory.

“We are beginning one of the most challenging periods in our industry,” Morgan said. “Our membership is the largest in our history and is extremely diverse … Maintaining a united, yet diverse organization will insure AFMA’s success in meeting the challenges of the marketplace in the years to come.”

Lloyd Kaufman, Tim Hill, Lawrence Garrett and Lew Horwitz will continue as vice chairmen. Their two-year terms are up next year.

The newly elected board includes eight new members as well as four prior chairmen.

AFMA represents the largest group of independent film and television companies in the entertainment industry.