You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Slam’ stars to take new IFP honor

Williams, Sohn receive first Perry Ellis nod

NEW YORK — Saul Williams and Sonja Sohn, the stars of Trimark’s “Slam,” will receive the first Perry Ellis Breakthrough Award at the Independent Feature Project’s Gotham Awards, to be held Sept. 23.

Directed by Marc Levin, “Slam” was recently awarded the Camera d’Or in Cannes and won the 1998 Grand Jury Prize at Sundance earlier this year.

The new award is aimed at outstanding performances from relatively new performers in a film. Williams and Sohn were selected by a jury consisting of Steve Buscemi, Rosie Perez, Tom Noonan, David O. Russell and Gregory Mosher.

IFP executive director Michelle Byrd said: “A breakthrough performance should take you someplace unexpected. Saul and Sonja’s work is electrifying. They represent the new talent we hope to spotlight with the award.”

Max Garelick, president and CEO of Perry Ellis Intl., said, “We believe that these fine young actors are on the verge of stardom, and we are honored to play a role in their careers.”

Garelick said the company is committed to carrying on Perry Ellis’ legacy of discovering and nurturing talent in film, theater, fashion and the arts.

Presenting sponsors at the IFP Gotham Awards’ annual fundraiser gala include Daily Variety, Bravo, the Independent Film Channel, Entertainment Weekly and the New York Times and Entertainment Group.

More Film

  • Moby Natalie Portman

    Moby Accuses Natalie Portman of Lying as the Two Spar Over Dating Claims

    In what’s become a he said/she said spat in multiple mediums, Moby, the elder statesman of electronic music, is now accusing actress Natalie Portman of lying and pleading to those on social media for his safety as “physical threats from complete strangers” emerge. To recap: this month, Moby released a new book, “Then It All [...]

  • A QUIET PLACE Emily Blunt

    'A Quiet Place' Sequel Moves Ahead Two Months to March 2020

    Paramount Pictures has moved its sequel to “A Quiet Place” ahead by two months from May 15 to March 20, 2020. John Krasinski is returning to direct the still-untitled movie with Emily Blunt, Millicent Simmonds and Noah Jupe reprising their roles. Cillian Murphy is joining the cast. “A Quiet Place” grossed $340 million at the [...]

  • Sony Pictures Classics Buys Michael Covino's

    Cannes: Sony Pictures Classics Buys Michael Covino's 'The Climb'

    Sony Pictures Classics has acquired all worldwide rights, excluding France and German-speaking Europe, to Michael Angelo Covino’s buddy comedy “The Climb.” The film premiered in the Un Certain Regard section at the Cannes Film Festival and won the Un Certain Regard Heart Prize alongside “A Brother’s Love” on Friday. Covino directed, co-wrote (with Kyle Marvin) [...]

  • Aladdin

    'Aladdin' Heads for Magical $100 Million Opening in North America

    Disney’s live-action “Aladdin” is heading for at least $100 million in North America during the four-day Memorial Day holiday weekend, early estimates showed Friday. “Aladdin” will likely finish Friday with around $30 million, including $7 million in Thursday night previews. Sony’s launch of horror-thriller “Brightburn” should pull in about $10 million for the holiday weekend and [...]

  • Henry Ian Cusick

    'Lost' Star Henry Ian Cusick Signs With Buchwald (EXCLUSIVE)

    Henry Ian Cusick, best known for playing Desmond on the hit ABC series “Lost,” is signing with talent agency Buchwald for representation. Cusick also starred in the CW sci-fi/drama “The 100” and was most recently seen in the Fox series “The Passage.” His other notable television credits include “Scandal,” “24,” “Fringe,” “The Mentalist,” “Body of [...]

  • Invisible Life Brazilian Cinema

    Brazil's 'Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão' Wins Cannes Un Certain Regard Award

    Brazilian filmmaker Karim Aïnouz emerged triumphant in tonight’s Un Certain Regard awards, as his grand-scale period melodrama “The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão” received the top prize from jury president Nadine Labaki. The “Capernaum” director and her fellow jurors demonstrated eclectic taste in the ceremony, ultimately handing honors to eight of the 18 feature films [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content