You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

PGA lauds Daly, Semel with its Golden Laurels

Duo has kept studio in top three for 14 years

Robert Daly and Terry Semel, Warner Bros.’ chairmen and co-CEOs, received the Producers Guild of America’s Milestone Award on Tuesday at the guild’s ninth annual Golden Laurel Awards.

The Milestone prize was presented by Dustin Hoffman, who once shunned awards shows but who is up this year for an Academy Award for his role in “Wag the Dog.”

Also featured as presenters at the Beverly Hilton event were “Titanic” Oscar nominee Gloria Stuart, James Woods, Jane Seymour, Pam Dawber, Walter Mirisch and Tony Danza. Michelle Lee and Debbie Allen were hosts, and Jack Wells performed announcing chores.

Semel and Daly, at the head of WB’s senior management since 1981, have helped the studio occupy one of the top three positions in domestic box office for 14 consecutive years.

Among the studio’s hits during the duo’s tenure have been “The Killing Fields,” the “Lethal Weapon” and “Batman” series, “JFK,” “The Fugitive,” “Unforgiven” and “L.A. Confidential.”

The producers of “Confidential,” Arnon Milchan, Curtis Hanson and Michael Nathanson, were among those nominated for the Darryl F. Zanuck Theatrical Producer of the Year Award.

The others were Steven Spielberg, Debbie Allen and Colin Wilson for “Amistad”; James L. Brooks, Bridget Johnson, Kristi Zea, Richard Sakai, Laurence Mark, Laura Ziskin, John D. Schofield and Richard Marks for “As Good as It Gets”; Lawrence Bender, Harvey Weinstein, Bob Weinstein, Jonathan Gordon, Su Armstrong, Kevin Smith, Scott Mosier and Chris Moore for “Good Will Hunting”; and James Cameron, Jon Landau and Rae Sanchini for “Titanic.”

The winners, both in motion picture and television categories, had not been announced by press time late Tuesday.

TV noms were divided between non-episodic productions and episodic series, with awards named after veteran TV producer Norman Fenton. In the non-episodic category, the nominees were Michael Fuchs, Nick Paleologos, Fred Zollo, Nellie Nugiel and Bonnie Timmermann for “In the Gloaming”; Bernard Sofronski and Cedric Scott for “Mandela and deKlerk”; Robert Benedetti, Laurence Fishburne, Derek Kavanagh, Kip Konwiser, Kern Konwiser and Peter Stelzer for “Miss Evers’ Boys”; Terence A. Donnelly for “Twelve Angry Men”; and Mark Carliner, John Frankenheimer, Julian Krainin and Ethel Winant for “George Wallace.”

In episodic TV, the nominees were Michael Cascio, CarolAnne Dolan and Diane Ferenczi for “Biography”; Barry Levinson, Tom Fontana, Jim Finnerty, Anya Epstein, David Simon, Julie Martin, Jim Yoshimura, Eric Overmyer and Gail Matrux for “Homicide: Life on the Street”; Garry Shandling, Brad Grey, John Roggi, Jon Vitti, Jeff Cesario, John Ziffren, Becky Hartman-Edwards, Carol Leifer, John Markus, Judd Apatow and Earl Pomerantz for “The Larry Sanders Show”; David Manson, Richard Kramer, Bill Cain, Cyrus Yavneh, Marlane Meyer, Michael Breault, Sandy Kroopf and Vanessa Hayes for “Nothing Sacred”; and Chris Carter, R.W. Goodwin, Howard Gordon, Frank Sponitz, Joseph Patrick Finn, Kim Manners, Paul Rabwin, Rob Bowman, Lori Jo Nemhauser, John Shiban, Vince Gilligan and Ken Horton for “The X-Files.”

The PGA also gave its Vision Awards — intended for projects of an uplifting, humane nature — to “Amistad,” which recounts a revolt by slaves and their subsequent trial; and “Lewis & Clark,” a PBS documentary about the famous explorers, which was produced by Ken Burns. The Nova Award, given to emerging producers who show promise, went Trey Parker and Matt Stone for Comedy Central’s “South Park,” and, in the feature category, to Uberto Pasolini for “The Full Monty.”

In addition, the films “The Sting” and “The Graduate,” as well as TV productions “Brain’s Song” and “Winds of War/War and Remembrance,” were inducted into the organization’s Hall of Fame.

Tony Danza presented the Lifetime Achievement Award for television to Garry Marshall. Mirisch, a past winner of the David O. Selznick Lifetime Achievement Award, presented it this year to Clint Eastwood.

More Film

  • Sam Mendes

    Sam Mendes' World War I Drama '1917' Set for Awards-Season Launch on Christmas 2019

    Universal Pictures has given an awards-season release date of Dec. 25, 2019, to Sam Mendes’ World War I drama “1971.” Steven Spielberg’s Amblin Partners is producing “1917” through its DreamWorks Pictures brand. “1917” will open in limited release on Christmas Day then go wide two weeks later on Jan. 10, 2020. Mendes wrote the script [...]

  • Ventana Sur Queer Latin Film Panel

    Ventana Sur: Panel Talks Merits, Setbacks in Latin Queer Cinema

    BUENOS AIRES — Four venerable professionals from the cinema world joined on Monday evening for Queer Cinema In Latin America, a frank discussion on Latin America’s role within the queer filmscape for Ventana Sur’s Industry conference series held at the UCA campus in Buenos Aires. Touching on advancements in character arc and notable achievements in [...]

  • Jennifer Lopez

    Jennifer Lopez 'Absolutely' Wants to Direct Film and Television

    Jennifer Lopez epitomizes the phrase “she’s done it all” — but there’s still more that the superstar would like to do. Lopez recently directed her first music video, “Limitless,” the track featured on her new rom-com “Second Act,” and it seems the multi-hyphenate has caught the directing bug. “Absolutely, absolutely,” Lopez responded when asked by [...]

  • Daniel Craig

    Rian Johnson's Murder Mystery 'Knives Out,' Starring Daniel Craig, Set for Thanksgiving Release

    Lionsgate has bought distribution rights to Daniel Craig’s murder mystery “Knives Out” and set a Thanksgiving release date of Nov. 27. MRC financed “Knives Out,” directed by Rian Johnson — best known for “Star Wars: The Last Jedi.” Lionsgate will also distribute the pic worldwide. The movie came together during the Toronto International Film Festival [...]

  • The favourite Movie

    Olivia Colman to Be Honored by Palm Springs Festival for 'The Favourite'

    “The Favourite” star Olivia Colman will receive the Desert Palm Achievement Award by the Palm Springs International Film Festival. The award will be presented by her co-star Emma Stone at the festival’s awards gala on Jan. 3 at the Palm Springs Convention Center. The festival, now in its 30th year, runs from Jan. 3 to [...]

  • Oscars Oscar Academy Awards Placeholder

    Motion Pictures Academy Announces Scientific and Technical Awards

    The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced nine scientific and technical achievements, represented by 27 individual recipients, to be honored at the annual Scientific and Technical Awards Presentation Feb. 9 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif. In addition, Curtis Clark will be receiving the John A. Bonner Award for his service [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content