The breakout dance-music artist Jamiroquai and the splashy, effects-rich video for his tune “Virtual Insanity” pulled in 10 nominations to dominate the list for the 1997 MTV Video Music Awards, the 14th annual video accolades.

All 10 of Jamiroquai’s video nods are for “Virtual Insanity,” the hit single from his “Traveling Without Moving” disc, which is fast approaching the million-sales mark for the Work Group/Epic label. It has been nominated for video of the year, best new artist in a video, direction, choreography, special effects, art direction, editing and cinematography, as well as breakthrough video and an international nomination.

Jamiroquai’s closest pursuer is Beck with seven nominations, Nine Inch Nails snared five and Smashing Pumpkins, the Wallflowers and Will Smith have four apiece. Jewel, Missy (Misdemeanor) Elliott, Marilyn Manson and Prodigy chalked up three nominations each.

Competing with Jamiroquai for video of the year are Beck’s “The New Pollution,” Jewel’s “You Were Meant for Me,” “The Perfect Drug” from Nine Inch Nails and No Doubt’s “Don’t Speak.”

Beck’s other nominations for “New Pollution” included nods for alternative musicvideo, direction, choreography and art direction, while his “Devil’s Haircut” video was singled out for best male video and editing.

“The Perfect Drug” from Nine Inch Nails was cited for best video, alternative musicvideo, direction, art direction and cinematography.

“Men in Black” lead Will Smith collected all four of his nominations for the movie’s spinoff video of the same name, cited for best male video, choreography, special effects and video from a film.

Smashing Pumpkins’ “The End Is the Beginning is the End” is vying for best special effects, direction, cinema-tography and editing, with the Wallflowers’ “One Headlight” video roping in nominations for new artist, group video, editing and the viewer’s choice category.

Jewel’s “You Were Meant for Me” is competing for video of the year, female video and viewer’s choice. Late rapper the Notorious B.I.G. is up for best rap video with his tune “Hypnotize.”

Babyface’s “Every Time I Close My Eyes” and R. Kelly’s “I Believe I Can Fly” shared best male video noms with Smith and Beck, while Jewel was nominated in the female video category along with Erykah Badu (“On & On”), Meredith Brooks (“Bitch”), Toni Braxton (“Un-Break My Heart”) and Paula Cole (“Where Have All the Cowboys Gone”).

Sharing the best group video honors with the Wallflowers were Blur (“Song 2”), Counting Crows (“A Long De-cember”), the Dave Matthews Band (“Crash Into Me”) and No Doubt (“Don’t Speak”).

Chris Rock will serve as host of this year’s awards, which are skedded to feature live performances from U2, Beck and Spice Girls, among others. The show will be broadcast Sept. 4 on MTV from New York’s Radio City Music Hall.