‘Oblivion’ Opens New Director Series

The 22-feature lineup for the 24th New Directors/New Films series at the Museum of Modern Art will include Ana Kokkinos’ “Only the Brave,” Nick Gomez’s “New Jersey Drive” and Jennifer Montgomery’s “Art for Teachers of Children.”

The prestigious series, co-sponsored by MoMA and the Film Society of Lincoln Center, runs March 17-April 2. Previously announced pix were opening-night entries “Living in Oblivion,” Tom DiCillo’s Sundance success, and He Ping’s “Red Firecracker, Green Firecracker.”

Both of the openers hit the series with distribs attached – “Oblivion” with Sony Pictures Classics and “Firecracker,” a Chinese entry, with October Films. The Montgomery pic has been acquired by Zeitgeist, and Gramercy will distribute Gomez’s film. First Run Pictures has “Only the Brave” (Australia), and Kino Intl. has Yim Ho’s Hong Kong entry, “The Day the Sun Turned Cold.”

Other films in the lineup: Pascale Ferran’s “Coming to Terms” (Petit Arrangements Avec Les Morts) (France); Shekhar Kapur’s “Bandit Queen” (India); Lourdes Portillo’s “The Devil Never Sleeps” (U.S./Mexico); Marius Holst’s “Cross My Heart and Hope to Die” (Norway); Pal Erdoss’ “A Light Sensitive Story” (Hungary); Tsai Ming-Liang’s “Vive l’Amour” (Taiwan); Tom Tykwer’s “Deadly Maria” (Germany); and Cedric Kahn’s “Trop de Bonheur” (France).

Also, He Jianjun’s “Postman” (China); Jeremy Podeswa’s “Eclipse” (Canada); Panos Karkanevatos’ “Borderline” (Greece); Wu Nien-jen’s “A Borrowed Life” (Taiwan); Jane Gillooly’s “Leona’s Sister Gerri” (U.S.); Marion Vernoux’s “Nobody Loves Me” (France); Jan Bucquoy’s “The Sexual Life of the Belgians” (Belgium); and Ebrahim Mokhtari’s “Zinat” (Iran).

Thirteen short films are being screened. They are Grant Lahood’s “Lemming Aid” (New Zealand); Jordan Deitcher’s “Meditations on a Promised Land” (U.S.); Eva Lindstrom’s “Leaning Backwards” (Sweden); Carol Halstead’s “Why?” (Canada); Terracino’s “My Polish Waiter” (U.S.); Mark Osborne’s “Greener” (U.S.); Mitch McCabe’s “Playing the Part” (Australia); Alvaro Fernandez Armero’s “The Merry Go Round” (Spain); Karethe Linaae’s “Off Key” (Canada); Abi Feijo’s “The Outlaws” (Portugal); Mary Ann Toman’s “The Female Offender” (U.S.); Vanessa Schwartz’s “The Janitor” (U.S.); and Claudia Silver’s “Kalamazoo” (U.S.).