PGA inducts 13 shows into its Hall

Thirteen classic television shows were inducted into the Producers Guild of America Hall of Fame during Wednesday night’s presentation of the Guild’s fifth annual Golden Laurel Awards.

In addition, Bob Finkel, veteran producer best known for TV musical/variety programs including those hosted by Andy Williams, Perry Como and George Gobel, was presented with the PGA’s Charles B. FitzSimons Lifetime Membership Award. Named after its first recipient, the Guild’s executive director, the award is given to a longtime member who has shown especially dedicated active service in the interest of the Guild over a long term.

The inductees were the 1974 TV film “Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman,” and the comedy, dramatic and educational series “The Carol Burnett Show,””Cheers, “”The Defenders,””Hill Street Blues,””Omnibus,””Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In, “”Saturday Night Live,””Sesame Street,””Studio One,””Texaco Star Theater” (starring Milton Berle), “The Twilight Zone” and “The Dick Van Dyke Show.”

Selection was by a committee of PGA judges; programs less than 5 years old were exempt from consideration, said Grant Tinker, announcing the citations. (Films and television programs are inducted in alternate years; this was the second set of TV Hall of Fame awards). Producers and/or talent representing all selected shows were present to acknowledge the honors.

Also on hand were most recipients of the previously announced 1994 PGA honors (Daily Variety, Feb. 15): Saul Zaentz (David O. Selznick lifetime achievement award in theatrical motion pictures), Roy Huggins (David Susskind lifetime achievement award in TV), “NYPD Blue’s” Steven Bochco, David Milch and Gregory Hoblit (Norman Felton TV producer of the year award), “The Piano’s” Jan Chapman (Eastman Kodak Nova award for most promising theatrical motion picture producer) , and “Seinfeld’s” Larry David and Jerry Seinfeld (American Airlines Nova award for most promising TV producer).

Not present were “Schindler’s List” honorees Steven Spielberg, Gerald R. Molen and Branko Lustig, winners of the Darryl F. Zanuck theatrical motion picture producer of the year award.

Accepting the American Airlines Nova award, Seinfeld quipped that he and David were “two guyswho have no creative vision, no standards, no idea at all of what we’re doing. To win an award like this, from an airline …” He was drowned out by audience laughter. (The Nova selections, like all others, were made by a PGA committee, and only sponsored by Kodak and American Airlines).

More TV

  • Hasan Minhaj

    Nahnatchka Khan, Hasan Minhaj, 'Just Mercy' Cast Talk Inclusion

    “Always Be My Maybe” was “satisfying” to create because it gave focus to two characters that wouldn’t typically be portrayed as romantic leads, said director Nahnatchka Khan of her Netflix film at the CAA Amplify conference in Ojai, sitting on a panel with comedian Hasan Minhaj and NBA star Chris Paul. “We’re all big fans [...]

  • Sebastian Maniscalco

    Sebastian Maniscalco to Host MTV VMAs

    MTV has announced that comedian, actor and best-selling author Sebastian Maniscalco will host the 2019 “VMAs” live from the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey on Monday, Aug. 26. Last year, Maniscalco published his best selling book “Stay Hungry,” followed by a stand up tour of the same name. The comedian has also sold out [...]

  • T-Pain, Faheem Rashad Najm. T-Pain performs

    TV News Roundup: 'T-Pain's School of Business' Sets August Premiere

    In today’s roundup, “T-Pain’s School of Business” sets an August 6 premiere on Fuse, and OWN greenlights a new talks series. EXECUTIVE NEWS Matt Brodlie is leaving his role as director of original film at Netflix to join the Disney+ content marketing team as senior vice president of international content development. In his new role, [...]

  • Songs for Screens Powered by Mac

    Songs For Screens: Labrinth on Scoring HBO’s Drake-Produced Drama 'Euphoria'

    British singer-songwriter Labrinth (née Timothy Lee McKenzie) has been having one of the biggest years of his nearly decade-long career, from the April release of his collaborative album with L.S.D. (a.k.a. Labrinth Sia & Diplo) to his starring role in the latest campaign for MINI, where he reinterprets Cole Porter’s cowboy classic “Don’t Fence Me [...]

  • The Office

    'The Office' to Stream Exclusively on NBCUniversal Service Beginning in 2021

    NBCUniversal announced Tuesday that it will begin streaming “The Office” exclusively on its standalone streaming service beginning in 2021. The popular comedy series will leave Netflix once the current deal with NBCU expires at the end of 2020, the same year that NBCU plans to launch its ad-supported streaming service. All nine seasons of the [...]

  • 'Lincoln Lawyer' Series in Development at

    'Lincoln Lawyer' Series in Development at CBS from David E. Kelley

    David E. Kelley is returning once more to the court of legal dramas. CBS has issued a series production commitment for “The Lincoln Lawyer,” with Kelley in position to pen and executive produce. Based on the series of bestselling novels by Michael Connelly, the show hails from A+E Studios in association with CBS TV Studios. [...]

  • Patrick Somerville'Maniac' TV Show premiere, London,

    'Maniac' Creator to Helm 'Made for Love,' 'Station Eleven' for WarnerMedia

    “Maniac” creator Patrick Somerville has signed on to helm two new series, “Made for Love” and “Station Eleven,” for WarnerMedia’s upcoming streaming service. “Made for Love,” which will be executive produced and directed by S.J. Clarkson, is a 10-episode, straight-to-series adaptation based on the novel of the same name by Alissa Nutting. The half-hour comedy [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content