Folk music ensemble the Rankin Family racked up the highest number of nominations for Juno Awards — the Canadian version of the Grammys — garnering four nods, including country group or duo, group and Canadian entertainer.

The latter category pits the Rankin Family against the likes of Celine Dion, Michelle Wright, the Barenaked Ladies and the Tragically Hip. The 35 awards will be handed out March 25 during a live broadcast on pubcaster CBC.

Rock group Rush will be inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame, as well as vying for group, hard rock album (“Counterparts”) and producer prizes against k.d. lang/Ben Mink, Daniel Lanois, Jane Siberry and Steven MacKinnon/Marc Jordan.

Dion and the Tragically Hip were among several triple Juno nominees. Dion received a nomination as female vocalist, Tragically Hip is competing for best-selling album (“Fully Completely”), and both are vying for single of the year: Dion with “Love Can Move Mountains” and the Tragically Hip with “Courage.” Also in the battle for best single are the Rankin Family (“Fare Thee Well Love”) , Neil Young (“Harvest Moon”) and Wright (“He Would Be Sixteen”).

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences explained that Bryan Adams did not make the single category’s short list because his single, “Please Forgive Me,” peaked after the eligibility period. The category is based on radio airplay, not sales, and the nominees are chosen from the top five singles on charts published by trade mag, the Record. The Adams tune will be eligible next year.

It’s obvious there’s a marked difference between CARAS and its American counterpart when it comes to selection procedures. CARAS pointed out that David Foster, who received seven Grammy nods, did not get a single Juno nomination this year. He was submitted for best songwriter for “Colour of My Love,” but did not get nominated. CARAS said the Grammy nominations he received did not have an equivalent in the Canadian music awards system.

Nominees for songwriter of the year were Jane Siberry, Sarah McLachlan, Jann Arden, Leonard Cohen and Blue Rodeo. The latter group received nods for group and video (“Rain Down on Me”).

Competing nominees for best video are Crash Test Dummies (“Mmm Mmm Mmm Mmm”), Holly Cole Trio (“I Can See Clearly Now”), Jann Arden (“I Would Die For You”) and Leonard Cohen (“The Future”). Cohen is also up for album of the year with “The Future.”

Other nominees include:


(foreign or domestic)

“Bat Out of Hell II: Back Into Hell,” Meatloaf; “The Bodyguard,” various artists, featuring Whitney Houston; “Fully Completely,” the Tragically Hip; “Get a Grip,” Aerosmith; “Keep the Faith,” Bon Jovi


“12 Inches of Snow,” Snow; “The Future,” Leonard Cohen; “Harvest Moon,” Neil Young; “I’ll Always Be There,” Roch Voisine; “Rocking Horse,” Alannah Myles


Celine Dion, Rita MacNeil, Sarah McLachlan, Anne Murray, Alannah Myles


Stef Carse, Daniel Lanois, John McDermott, Snow, Roch Voisine


Blue Rodeo, the Jeff Healey Band, Moxy Fruvous, the Rankin Family, Rush


Joan Kennedy, Anne Murray, Anita Perras, Shania Twain, Cassandra Vasik


Joel Feeney, George Fox, Ron Hynes, Charlie Major, Jim Witter


The Blue Shadows, Cassandra Vasik & Russell deCarle, One Horse Blue, the Johner Brothers, the Rankin Family