You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Laurel noms announced

Producers for five of this year’s hottest pix and nine TV shows, including “Schindler’s List,””The Piano,””Seinfeld” and “NYPD Blue,” are up for Golden Laurel awards, the Producers Guild of America announced Wednesday.

The Golden Laurels, which honor producers in TV and features, will be given out March 2 at a bash at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

Nominated for the Darryl F. Zanuck Theatrical Motion Picture Producer of the Year Award are Arnold Kopelson for “The Fugitive,” Jim Sheridan for “In the Name of the Father,” Jan Chapman for “The Piano,” Mike Nichols, John Calley and Ismail Merchant for “The Remains of the Day,” and Steven Spielberg, Gerald R. Molen and Branko Lustig for “Schindler’s List.”

TV shows nominated for the Norman Felton TV Producer ofthe Year Award were “And the Band Played On,””Gypsy,””Home Improvement,””Law and Order,””NYPD Blue, “”Picket Fences,””The Larry Sanders Show,””Seinfeld” and “To Dance With the White Dog.”

According to the Producers Guild, names of the TV producers are not normally announced until a winner has been chosen because the producers for series often vary from episode to episode.

The guild will also give a David O. Selznick Lifetime Achievement Award for features and the David Susskind Lifetime Achievement Award in TV. Nova Awards will go to the most promising producers of pix and TV.

Last year’s winners were Stephen Woolley for “The Crying Game” in features, and Ian Sander and David Chase for “I’ll Fly Away” in TV.

More Film

  • Tessa Thompson'Avengers: Endgame' Film Premiere, Arrivals,

    'Avengers: Endgame's' Tessa Thompson Says Valkyrie Would Spoon Captain Marvel, Thor

    Tessa Thompson, who plays Valkyrie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and upcoming “Avengers: Endgame,” had no problem addressing speculation about the character’s sexuality at the “Endgame” red carpet premiere Monday. The “Sorry to Bother You” actress explained that she played her Marvel character as bisexual. “In the canon, [Valkyrie] is bisexual. You see her with [...]

  • WGA Agency Packaging Fight Placeholder Writer

    Writers Guild Says Over 7,000 Members Have Fired Agents

    Over 7,000 members of the Writers Guild of America have fired their talent agents, the Hollywood union said on Monday. As promised, the guild delivered a first round of termination letters to agents in a show of support for the WGA’s full-on war with the Association of Talent Agents. “Today the Guild delivered a first [...]


    Brazil’s Ancine Freezes Incentives, Threatening Film-TV Industry Paralysis

    Brazil’s Ancine agency, its foremost public-sector source of film funding, has frozen all of its incentive programs, potentially near paralyzing new production in Latin America’s biggest film-TV industry. The dramatic decision, which has left Brazil’s industry is a state of shock and intense fear for its future, comes as it has taken further hits. In [...]

  • Jennifer Lopez

    Jennifer Lopez Reteams With STXfilms on Romantic-Comedy Co-Starring Owen Wilson

    Jennifer Lopez is reteaming with STXfilms on the upcoming romantic-comedy “Marry Me.” Kat Coiro is directing the film and Owen Wilson is in final negotiations to join the pic, which will likely shoot this fall. The script was written by John Rogers and Tami Sagher, with a rewrite by Harper Dill. Lopez and Wilson both [...]

  • Steve Golin The Revenant Spotlight Producer

    Steve Golin, Prolific Producer and Founder of Anonymous Content, Dies at 64

    Steve Golin, an Oscar-winning producer who was founder and CEO of Anonymous Content, died Sunday in Los Angeles of cancer. He was 64. Golin was a pioneer in blending the business of talent management with production. Anonymous Content, which Golin founded in 1999, worked with a stable of big name artists such as Steven Soderbergh, [...]

  • David Leitch Kelly McCormick

    'Hobbs & Shaw' Director David Leitch, Kelly McCormick Sign First-Look Deal With Universal (EXCLUSIVE)

    Universal Pictures is signing David Leitch, his longtime producing partner, Kelly McCormick and their recently founded 87North Production banner to a first-look production deal. “David and Kelly have established themselves as a distinctive, stylish filmmaking team who can do it all, from contained thrillers to franchise tentpoles,” said Universal’s president Peter Cramer. “We are confident [...]

  • Still from cannes competition film "Parasite"

    Cannes: Bong Joon-ho Says ‘Parasite’ Is Too Local to Win Competition

    Having been partially responsible for the Netflix fall out with the Cannes Film Festival, “Okja” and “Snowpiercer” director Bong Joon-ho returns to Cannes competition this year with conventionally- financed “Parasite.” But the Korean-language film is a tragicomedy that Bong says may be too nuanced for the festival. “Cannes always makes me feel excited, fresh, and [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content