You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Cannes Critics’ Week names pic selections

This year’s Intl. Critics’ Week pix, the Cannes Film Festival’s nod to the next generation of filmmakers, hail from locales as disparate as Iran and Uruguay.

Often on their way to or from beginners’ festivals such as Sundance, the seven films from first- or second-time directors are chosen annually by a panel of French critics and judged by an international jury, at nightly screenings among the flashier offerings at Cannes.

The Critics’ Week pictures have often gone on to greater glory or box office, as did the ’92 Belgian cult success “Man Bites Dog.”

French helmer Jacques Audiard’s competition opener, “Regarde les hommes tomber,” is a murder mystery, as are Dane Ole Bornedal’s “Nattevagten” (Nightwatch) and Uruguayan Pablo Dotta’s “The Airship,” which is also Uruguay’s first feature film.

Ebrahim Mokhtari’s “Zinat,” from Iran, and Palestinian Rashid Masharawi’s “Curfew” explore personal and public oppression, while American Kevin Smith’s “Clerks” and Dutch director Frouke Fokkema’s “Wildegroei” (It Will Never Be Spring) take a surreal look at everyday life.

The Intl. Critics’ Week selections follow:


“Regard les hommes tomber,” Jacques Audiard (France)

“Zinat,” Ebrahim Mokhtari (Iran)

“Nattevagten,” Ole Bornedal (Denmark)

“Hatta Ishaar Akhar” (Curfew), Rashid Masharawi (Palestine/The Netherlands)

“Clerks,” Kevin Smith (U.S.)

“El Dirigible” (The Airship), Pablo Dotta (Uruguay)

“Wildegroei” (It Will Never Be Spring), Frouke Fokkema (The Netherlands)


“One Night Stand,” Bill Britten (U.K.)

“Poubelles,” Olias Barco (France)

“Ponchada” (Flat), Alejandra Moya (Mexico)

“Os Salteadores” (The Outlaws), Abi Feijo (Portugal)

“Home Away From Home,” Maureen Blackwood (U.K.)

“Off Key,” Karethe Lenaae (Canada)

“Performance Anxiety,” David S. Ewing (U.S.)



President Jose Carlos Avellar (Brazil)

Secretary Philippe J. Maarek (France)

N.T. Binh (France)

Hugo Davenport (U.K.)

Susanne Horst (Germany)

Adam Horoszczak (Poland)

Gilles Marsolais (Canada)

Christos Mitsis (Greece)

Gidi Orsher (Israel)

Tomas Perez Turrent (Mexico)

Walter Vian (Switzerland)

More Film

  • 'Shazam!' Review: Zachary Levi is Pure

    Film Review: 'Shazam!'

    In “Shazam!,” Zachary Levi brings off something so winning it’s irresistible. He plays a square-jawed, rippling-muscled man of might, with a cheesy Day-Glo lighting bolt affixed to his chest, who projects an insanely wholesome and old-fashioned idea of what a superhero can be. But he’s also playing a breathless teenage kid on the inside, and [...]

  • WGA Agents Contract Tug of War

    Showrunners, Screenwriters Back WGA in Agency Battle, Sides to Meet Again Tuesday

    More than 750 showrunners and screenwriters have backed the WGA’s battle against talent agencies taking packaging fees and other changes to the rules governing the business relationship between agents and writers. The letter of support issued Saturday is significant because of the immense clout showrunners and prominent screenwriters possess in Hollywood. Several showrunners had recently [...]

  • Doppelgänger Red (Lupita Nyong'o) and Adelaide

    Box Office: 'Us' on Track for Second-Highest Debut of 2019 With $67 Million

    Jordan Peele’s “Us” is on its way to scaring up one of the biggest debuts of 2019, with an estimated $67 million from 3,741 North American locations. Should estimates hold, “Us” will be able to claim several milestones: the highest debut for an original horror movie (the biggest launch for any horror pic goes to [...]

  • NF_D_JGN-D6-2160.cr2

    Film Review: 'The Dirt'

    A long time ago, the words sex, drugs, and rock ‘n’ roll carried a hint of danger. The lifestyle did, too, but I’m talking about the phrase. It used to sound cool (back around the time the word “cool” sounded cool). But sex, drugs, and rock ‘n’ roll has long since passed into the realm [...]

  • James Newton Howard Danny Elfman

    New Trend in Concert Halls: Original Music by Movie Composers — No Film Required

    Movie and TV composers are in greater demand than ever for, surprisingly, new music for the concert hall. For decades, concert commissions for film composers were few and far between. The increasing popularity of John Williams’ film music, and his visibility as conductor of the Boston Pops in the 1980s and ’90s, led to his [...]

  • Idris Elba Netflix 'Turn Up Charlie'

    Idris Elba in Talks to Join Andy Serkis in 'Mouse Guard'

    Idris Elba is in negotiations to join Andy Serkis and Thomas Brodie-Sangster in Fox’s fantasy-action movie “Mouse Guard” with “Maze Runner’s” Wes Ball directing. Fox is planning a live-action movie through performance capture technology employed in the “Planet of the Apes” films, in which Serkis starred as the ape leader Caesar. David Peterson created, wrote, [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content