Big Bird, Fred Rogers, James Coburn, Annette Funicello, Ben Johnson, Charlie Sheen, James Brown and the Supremes are among 24 recipients of Hollywood Walk of Fame stars in the coming year.

The Walk of Fame Committee on Wednesday night chose the 1993-94 recipients from a list of about 200 nominees.

Entertainers in the field of motion pictures, television, music, theater and radio are honored.

Coburn, Johnson, Sheen, Funicello, Maurice Jarre, Marlee Matlin, Raquel Welch and MCA chief Lew Wasserman were the motion picture category recipients.

Rogers, the “Seame Street” character Big Bird, Della Reese, Pat Sajak and John Tesh were picked in the television category.

Brown, Anita Baker, the rock group Duran Duran, the Pointer Sisters, Doc Severinsen and the Supremes were the music industry recipients.

Victor Borge, Keith Carradine, Placido Domingo and Tommy Tune were the live theater recipients, and Los Angeles personality Ralph Story will get a star in the radio category.

‘Coveted honor’

“A star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame is a coveted honor and is unique in that it is the only award a celebrity can share with his or her fans,” said Johnny Grant, Hollywood’s honorary mayor and Walk of Fame Committee chairman.

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce has dedicated 1,984 stars in the celebrated Walk of Fame, which spans Hollywood Boulevard and Vine Street. Sponsors nominate the celebrities and pay $ 4,800.