You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘End’ in front for BAFTA

“Howards End” leads the field in this year’s British Academy Awards race, with 11 nominations, ahead of “Strictly Ballroom” with eight, and “The Crying Game” with six.

Awards are given by the British Academy of Film & Television Arts.

In the major categories, “Howards End” and “The Crying Game” are even.

Merchant Ivory’s “Howards End” has been nominated for best film, director (James Ivory), adapted screenplay (Ruth Prawer Jhabvala), actress (Emma Thompson), supporting actress (Helena Bonham-Carter) and supporting actor (Samuel West).

Neil Jordan’s “Crying Game” has picked up nods for best film, director, original screenplay (Jordan), actor (Stephen Rea), supporting actress (Miranda Richardson) and supporting actor (Jaye Davidson).

Richardson has the rare distinction of being nominated twice in the same category, also being cited for Louis Malle’s “Damage.”

Nominations for Baz Luhrmann’s “Strictly Ballroom,” a critical favorite in Blighty, include best film, adapted screenplay (Luhrmann and Craig Pearce), actress (Tara Morice) and music (David Hirschfielder).

Other leading contenders are Robert Altman’s “The Player” and Clint Eastwood’s “Unforgiven,” both tipped for best film and director, and Robert Downey Jr. as actor for his work in “Chaplin.”

The BAFTA craft awards will be hosted by the Theater Royal in Nottingham on March 7. The performance awards will take place at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on March 21.


“The Crying Game”– Stephen Woolley, Neil Jordan

“Howards End”– Ismail Merchant, James Ivory

“The Player”– David Brown, Michael Tolkin, Nick Wexler, Robert Altman

“Strictly Ballroom”– Tristram Miall, Baz Luhrmann

Unforgiven”– Clint Eastwood


Neil Jordan –“The Crying Game”

James Ivory –“Howards End”

Robert Altman –“The Player”

Clint Eastwood –“Unforgiven”


Neil Jordan –“The Crying Game”

Peter Chelsom, Adrian Dunbar –“Hear My Song”

Woody Allen –“Husbands and Wives”

David Webb Peoples –“Unforgiven”


Ruth Prawer Jhabvala –“Howards End”

Oliver Stone, Zachary Sklar –“JFK”

Michael Tolkin –“The Player”

Baz Luhrmann, Craig Pearce –“Strictly Ballroom”


Judy Davis –“Husbands and Wives”

Tara Morice –“Strictly Ballroom”

Jessica Tandy –“Fried Green Tomatoes”

Emma Thompson –“Howards End”


Daniel Day-Lewis –“The Last of the Mohicans”

Robert Downey Jr. –“Chaplin”

Stephen Rea –“The Crying Game”

Tim Robbins –“The Player”


Kathy Bates –“Fried Green Tomatoes”

Helena Bonham-Carter –“Howards End”

Miranda Richardson –“The Crying Game”

Miranda Richardson –“Damage”


Jaye Davidson –“The Crying Game”

Gene Hackman –“Unforgiven”

Tommy Lee Jones –“JFK”

Samuel West –“Howards End”


Alan Menken, Howard Ashman –“Beauty and the Beast”

John Altman –“Hear My Song”

Trevor Jones, Randy Edelman –“The Last of the Mohicans”

David Hirschfielder –“Strictly Ballroom”


“Les Amants du Pont Neuf”– Christian Fechner, Leos Catax

“Raise the Red Lantern”– Chiu Fu-Sheng, Zhang Yimou

“Delicatessen”– Claudie Ossard, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Marc Caro

“Europa, Europa”– Artur Brauner, Margaret Menegoz, Agnieszka Holland


“Deux Ramoneurs Chez Une Cantatrice”– Michel Caulea

“Heartsongs”– Caroline Hewitt, Sue Clayton

“Omnibus”– Anne Bennett, Sam Karmann

“Sense of History”– Simon Channing Williams, Mike Leigh


“A Is for Autism”– Dick Arnall, Tim Webb

“Blindscape”– Stephen Palmer

“Daumier’s Law”– Ginger Gibbons, Geoff Dunbar

“Soho Square”– Pam Dennis, Sue Pexton, Mario Cavalli


Freddie Francis –“Cape Fear”

Tony Pierce-Roberts –“Howards End”

Dante Spinotti –“The Last of the Mohicans”

Jack N. Green –“Unforgiven”


Stuart Craig –“Chaplin”

Luciana Arrighi –“Howards End”

Wolf Kroeger –“The Last of the Mohicans”

Catherine Martin –“Strictly Ballroom”


John Mollo, Ellen Mirojnick –“Chaplin”

Jenny Bevan, John Bright –“Howards End”

Elsa Zamparelli –“The Last of the Mohicans”

Angus Strathie, Catherine Martin –“Strictly Ballroom”


Thelma Schoonmaker –“Cape Fear”

Andrew Marcus –“Howards End”

Joe Hutshing, Pietro Scalia –“JFK”

Geraldine Peroni –“The Player”

Jill Bilcock –“Strictly Ballroom”



“The Last of the Mohicans”

“Strictly Ballroom”




“Batman Returns”

“Beauty and the Beast”

“Death Becomes Her”


“Batman Returns”


“Howards End”

“The Last of the Mohicans”

More Film

  • New Fox Appoints Wayne Borg to

    New Fox Appoints Wayne Borg to Los Angeles Studio Role

    Wayne Borg, who has headed the Fox Studios Australia operations in Sydney for the past four years, has been appointed president and general manager of studios at New Fox. He will relocate from Australia to Los Angeles. Fox Studios Australia, which is to remain part of 21st Century Fox and will become part of Disney [...]

  • Lisa Borders Time's Up

    Time's Up President Lisa Borders Resigns

    Lisa Borders has resigned as president of Time’s Up, she and the organization announced on Monday. Borders is resigning due to family issues, she said in a statement. Time’s Up COO Rebecca Goldman will now serve as interim CEO. “As Time’s Up continues to grow, I am proud of the work I have done to [...]

  • Keira Knightly as "Rachael Morgan" in

    Film Review: Keira Knightley in 'The Aftermath'

    Less widely seen (and acclaimed) than it deserved to be, James Kent’s debut feature “Testament of Youth” was one of the great recent love-in-wartime dramas, translating the intimate romance and sprawling human tragedy of Vera Brittain’s WWI memoir with a grace and heft worthy of its David Lean allusions. Four years on, it’s not hard [...]

  • Inside Amazon's New Feature Film Strategy

    Amazon's New Film Strategy: Straight-to-Service Titles and Starry Sundance Buys

    It was close to midnight when Amazon Studios chief Jennifer Salke got the text. The company had failed in its quest to acquire “Brittany Runs a Marathon,” a body image dramedy that captivated Salke when she saw it at Sundance. A sales agent on the project messaged her to say that a competitor offered a [...]

  • Alfonso Cuaron71st Annual Writers Guild Awards,

    Alfonso Cuarón on Academy's 'Inevitable' Reversal on Televised Oscar Categories

    Alfonso Cuarón isn’t exactly surprised that the Academy reversed its decision and will now air all the Oscar categories during the live show on Sunday. Feb. 24. Calling the decision “inevitable,”Cuarón tells Variety that he thinks the Academy should take things even further. “Let’s stop calling them technical categories!” he told Variety on Sunday night [...]

  • TorinoFilmLab Announces Selections for 2019 ScriptLab

    TorinoFilmLab Announces Selections for 2019 ScriptLab (EXCLUSIVE)

    The TorinoFilmLab has announced the 20 feature projects and five story editor trainees who have been selected to take part in the 2019 edition of ScriptLab, an initiative focused on the development of fiction feature film scripts in early development stage. Beginning in March, this year’s participants will team up with filmmakers from around the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content