You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

ASCAP Deems Taylor winners announced

The American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers has announced the winners of its 25th annual ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards for outstanding print and media coverage of music for 1991.

Awards are given in honor of Deems Taylor, ASCAP president from 1942-48 and a composer, music critic and editor.

Bill Arhos and Terry Lickona won the television award for producing KLRU-TV’s “Austin City Limits”; Tim Page, host of WNYC’s “New, Old and Unexpected Music,” won the radio award, while eight book authors and nine writers of journal, magazine and newspaper articles also received awards.

Book author and publisher winners included Simha Arom for her “African Polyphony & Polyrhythm: Musical Structure and Methodology”; James Gavin, “Intimate Nights: The Golden Age of New York Cabaret”; Gene Lees, “Waiting for Dizzy”; and Thomas McGeary, “Harry Partch: Bitter Music–Collected Journals, Essays, Introductions and Librettos.”

Also, Ellen Rosand, “Opera in 17th-Century Venice: The Creation of a Genre”; Willie Ruff for “A Call to Assembly: The Autobiography of a Musical Storyteller”; and Steven C. Smith, “A Heart at Fire’s Center: The Life and Music of Bernard Herrmann.”

The nine writers of journal, magazine and newspaper articles were Anthony DeCurtis (Rolling Stone, South Atlantic Quarterly), Jim Henke (Rolling Stone), Ralph Locke (Cambridge Opera Journal, The Early Romantic Era), Jefferson Morley and Nathaniel Wice (Spin), Ned Rorem (Opera News), Matthew Sigman (Symphony Magazine), Teri Noel (Choral Music on Record) and Armond White (The City Sun).

Rolling Stone will be honored with a special award for setting the standards for excellence in rock journalism on occasion of the magazine’s 25th anniversary.

Winners will be honored Tuesday at ASCAP’s headquarters in New York. A total of $ 6,000 in cash prizes will be distributed.

More Music

  • James Marsden attends the 2019 MOCA

    New Abortion Ban Laws Take Center Stage at MOCA Gala

    Forty years ago in Los Angeles, the decision to invest millions in a museum dedicated exclusively to contemporary art — not to mention its formerly desolate downtown location, where the vibe was more apocalyptic than artsy — was a risky proposition. But now that the city’s cultural heart has shifted south of Hollywood, it seems [...]

  • Spectators watch the 2019 Eurovision Song

    U.S. Music Industry Delegation Convenes in Tel Aviv for Eurovision

    This past weekend, squeezed between a string of Eurovision Song Contest parties, Tel Aviv’s posh Norman hotel played host to an intimate, invite-only dinner of music industry delegates from the United States. The rooftop-set event was designed as a highlight on the itinerary of the Creative Community for Peace (CCFP) weeklong trip to Israel. CCFP, [...]

  • Greta Von Fleet - Jake KiszkaGreta

    Greta Van Fleet Put Spotlight on Solos at Asbury Park Tour Stop

    Michigan rockers Greta Van Fleet brought their “March of the Peaceful Army” tour to the Jersey Shore on Saturday night, performing at the legendary Asbury Park venue the Stone Pony’s Summer Stage. The band packed the outdoor venue on a moonlit, summer-seeming night in what staffers said was the series’ fastest-selling concert to date, with [...]

  • Madonna

    Madonna's Madame X Tour Adds New York, Chicago and L.A. Dates

    Madonna has added additional shows to her upcoming Madame X tour. Nine newly booked dates have been announced for New York, Chicago and Los Angeles. The Queen of Pop adds five additional New York concerts at the Howard Gilman Opera House, which will take place between Oct. 2 to 7; two extra shows will take [...]

  • Doug Davis and Jodie ShihadehVariety Power

    Jodie Shihadeh Named Partner at The Davis Firm

    Jodie Shihadeh has been named Partner at The Davis Firm, PLLC. She joined the firm in 2011 and rose from associate to Managing Attorney and now partner. She graduated from Boston College and received her law degree from Fordham University School of Law in 2011. While still in law school she interned in the Business [...]

  • ZZ Top, Caesars Entertainment Team on

    ZZ Top, Caesars Team for Jukebox Musical 'Sharp Dressed Man' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees ZZ Top and Caesars Entertainment are developing “Sharp Dressed Man,” a jukebox musical set to open next year in Las Vegas featuring the band’s greatest hits. Members Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill and Frank Beard are all serving as executive producers. “Sharp Dressed Man” is described as an “outrageous, [...]

  • Dakota Johnson Tracee Ellis Ross

    Dakota Johnson, Tracee Ellis Ross Co-Starring in Comedy 'Covers'

    Dakota Johnson and Tracee Ellis Ross will co-star in “Covers,” a comedy set in the music scene in Hollywood. “Late Night” director Nisha Ganatra is helming from a screenplay by Flora Greeson. Focus Features is partnering with Working Title Films on the movie. Working Title’s Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner will produce with Alexandra Loewy [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content